Oh, My Achin’ Head
No, I’m not sick, at least not yet, anyway. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I don’t. It’s mighty hard to knit with fingers crossed. Remember that tweedy vest from Interweave Knits that I had on my needles? Well, remember no more. I found the quickest way to WIP bust is to frog!

I sat down to work on it this weekend and it gave me a headache. I’m sure the headache had nothing to do with the vast quantities of girl scout cookies I’ve been eating and the resulting sugar crash. I buy and eat all these cookies to support young girls all over the world; don’t you? I have dreaded picking up this project after I started it. Whenever I felt I needed to work on it to WIP bust and alleviate guilt. I dreaded it, because I have continually struggled with the 8 row pattern on the vest. I struggle with the pattern because I have to pay such close attention to each stitch, that I can’t multitask. I can’t watch TV or talk to people while working on it. Heaven forbid, I have to keep my pie hole shut for a few minutes! And it’s not that difficult of a pattern, folks!!!

Well, that day was no different. And then I started to see my future. Decreases at the arms and neck while staying in pattern. Gulp! The entire back still to be knit! Ack! Here’s the real guilt. My Mom and I were supposed to be doing this as a knitalong. She was the hare, having done her first part as a sprint, to my tortoise, plodding along. My head began to throb, as I thought about how I would translate the directions to her in Chinese, when I didn’t even understand how to decrease while in pattern. I had figured that I would breezily explain to her in Chinese what to do, as I was doing it at the same time. Sounded like a good idea at the time. Well, I shoulda seen the problems from the beginning, when I realized that I had misunderstood the words for knit and purl. I was telling my Mom to purl instead of knit, and vice versa. People, never ignore the signs. I should have known I was in way over my head from the get go.

So I decided to frog it. It was a difficult decision, but I was so happy once I made it. Mom, on the other hand, not so happy. She would never come out and say so, but She Does Not Like to Frog. I think she’s keeping it safe in a bag somewhere in her room. It’ll probably be there 5 years from now, she still hopeful that I will change my mind. No way, no how, unh unh.

I kept the piece for the rest of the day, kind of mourning it. But I really needed that size 6 needle to start those Last Minute Knitted Gifts wrist warmers I’ve been dreaming of. Ripping it out with the ball winder was way more enjoyable than knitting it up. I was having so much fun that I didn’t… wouldn’t… couldn’t! stop to snap a picture. Here it is, formerly known as the tweedy vest. If anybody has any great ideas for what to make with 10 balls of red Dale Sisik, please drop me a line.

4 responses to “

  1. Lady Misty Morn

    Frogging can be so freeing, especially when you are not thrilled about what you’re knitting. That’s how I killed 2 projects during my Olympic WIP busting frenzy.

  2. I agree with “other Marie” that frogging is almost as much fun as finishing something. I’ve got a couple of projects headed for the frog pond, too. One of them is done with 5 different yarns held together, and it’s a royal pain to frog. Just not as much trouble as knitting the blasted thing–size 35 needles aren’t my friends!

  3. Yes, frogging can be your friend! Clears the way for new, happy-making projects. Maybe the yarn could be another shrug? You look great in the silky wrap; maybe you need a red one, too? (Debbie Bliss has some great shrug patterns.)

    P.S. I’m still celebrating the day I frogged the half-made *blanket* I was crocheting out of Rowan Linen Drape. Now I have a gazillion balls of the stuff, but not that horrible project to worry about finishing. Whee!

  4. Projects that I can’t multitak on (even if it’s just watching a movie) languish more than simpler ones! Right there with ya!

    Good for you for making the decision to frog. There are so many things 10 balls of Sisik would make..and I bet it felts well too!

Leave a Reply

