Almost Done!

The shrug is finally done and being blocked. It’s pinned to within an inch of its life, stretched out on the blocking board with the powerful steamer waiting nearby. Sounds kind of like torture, doesn’t it? Well, shrug, I tell you… no pain, no gain. With the series of yo’s and k2togs, it got all wonky. Its final shape was a parallelogram. I actually considered keeping it as some light wrap scarf thingy but only for a second. I reminded myself what it was destined to be so I stayed on track for once. When it’s dry, I’ll just seam up 9 inches on each end for the arms, maybe add some crochet edging to the sleeve and neck/back part, and it’ll be done. This is the exciting part that I also dread. I never know how it’s going to turn out, whether it’s going to be a winner or a loser, and I get really nervous at this point. I just have to have faith and finish it out to the end. Wish me luck! This second picture isn’t great but wanted to show it for one cool detail. See the little shiny parts of the yarn? That’s the rayon wrap. I love these little bits giving the fabric a bit more dimension.

2 responses to “

  1. Pretty!! Can’t wait to see it shrug-ized!

  2. Mary–how much yardage was in that yarn you used? I am trying to figure out what yarn I want to use for this and I don’t know what i have that will work…

Leave a Reply

