Seems It Never Rains in Southern California

Well, it is raining today. So instead of bringing you knitting goodness (or badness, on my part), I’m sharing pictures from my visit to Huntington Library and Gardens yesterday. For the past 5 years or so, my stepmother-in-law (isn’t there a better term than this?) takes my sister-in-law and me to tea at the Huntington Library. They have a tea room, and we lollygag for about 2 hours over yummy tea, sandwiches, and desserts. Then we enjoy a lovely stroll through the various gardens. In past years it has been almost too hot for a long stroll, but yesterday the weather was overcast and perfect for enjoying the flowers and greenery. The picture above is the covered walkway leading to the tea room.

Here’s the Gardening Mistress, as I like to call her, in the Herb Garden. Or is she the scarecrowess? This garden features beautiful brick walkways in a geometric pattern among the beautiful plants, reminding me of an English garden. And another picture of the Herb Garden.

One of my favorite gardens at the Huntington is the Japanese Garden, complete with bridge, koi pond, zen rock garden and bonsai court. Some people were giving the koi crackers, and started a feeding frenzy with the fish.

Some of the paths meander through a bamboo forest. On a sunny day, you still get wonderful shade and coverage from the tall bamboo.

The Children’s Garden, one of their newest exhibits, features little archways and doorways for little ones to walk through, little greenhouses to sit inside, and lots of burbling fountains and brooks to splash in.

All in all, a truly wonderful afternoon.

2 responses to “

  1. What a lovely day! Yeah – yesterday’s weather was perfect for the Huntington!

  2. Oh, I so love the Huntington! Was just talking about it two days ago, actually, the Japanese garden being my favourite part. My sweetheart has never been and I’m trying to find a time I can take him because I know he’d love it. Now you’ve got me raring to go! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

