Books and Food
I was kinda on a yarn diet for the past coupla months and I’m not exactly sure why. Maybe because I have been so focused on finishing Orangina before the deadline? Maybe because I have some many projects lined up? It’s not that I’ve lost my knitting mojo; I still enjoy reading, seeing, and talking about yarn, patterns, fo’s, wip’s, and ufo’s. Of course, ALL of my knitster friends and blogs I read will attest that knitting book acquisition does NOT count as stash acquisition. While I hadn’t been accumulating yarn, I have been making up for lost time with books. This is what I’ve purchased recently: Knitting Rules by The Yarn Harlot, Mason-Dixon Knitting by Ann and Kay, and Greetings from Knit Cafe. (I won’t post pictures of them, as I’m sure you already own your copy.) I love to just look at them page after page after page. And when I’m done, I go back to the beginning and do it again. I have to try really hard not to drool on them. Beth from our SNB group has a couple of patterns in the Knit Cafe book, and that is all kinds of cool to me — mostly because she’s a barrel of laughs and a hip, funky chick to boot. I also got Debbie Stoller’s Happy Hooker book a while back, and have been eyeing a couple of sweaters. Now, if only I could cut back on the knitting queue, so I could actually start one of the crochet projects. Of course, I’d have to learn how to read the pattern. Yeah right!

Another book I recently got is NOT knitting related but still oh so good. It’s Cupcakes from the Cake Doctor by Ann Byrn. I love her Cake Doctor book, and swear by a few of the recipes. Sweetie Girl and I love baking the cakes together. I had a chance to peruse the Cupcake book before purchasing and it cinched the deal for me. Over Memorial Day weekend, we were in serious cupcake production mode. Fun fun fun! Cookies and cream cupcakes were a big hit with kids and adults, but the jury was hung about the ‘Smores cupcakes. Here are pictures of the cupcake production line.


A good baker always tastes along the way!


Food styling by moi!


Here… have a bite!

P.S. Let me assure you that I am NO LONGER on said yarn diet. I began consuming again last week, and plan to *gorge* at The Yarn Lady’s Bag Sale on Saturday.

4 responses to “

  1. Lady Misty Morn

    Those cupcakes look yummy! Sweetie girl is adorable making those cupcakes!!

    I’d be happy to help you learn those crochet patterns, I’ve been reading those as long as I can remember :).

  2. Ditto on the cupcakes! I guess you will have to do an extra-special raid on the Yarn Lady’s bags, since I have to work and am going to miss it šŸ˜¦

  3. OK, Mary I am still stuck looking at those cupcakes. Oh my gosh, I want some. LOL

    LOL, referring to the yarn crawl, Dan asked me “aren’t there any yarn shops closer than Yarn Lady? LOL husbands don’t get it.

  4. PS Later on he told me he was just joking. (There is hope for him LOL)

Leave a Reply

