Progress


I’ve been cranking away at my wobbly tote. I got a few more rows done by the pool yesterday, while Sweetie Hubby and Kids were swimming. I messed up the pattern a little bit, but just laddered down and tried to fix it. Tried is the operative word, because the color changes in intarsia are new to me. So, like all my projects, there is an element of winging it. I like to call it gaining more knitting experience or doing research. I’m two thirds of the way through the first half of the tote, and am up in the air about the second half. Do I do circles again or zip through it by doing stripes? Dealing with all the little yarn bundles for the intarsia is kind of a drag. At SnB we talked about making the second side with vertical stripes instead of circles and that sounds like fun fun fun. We’ll see when the time comes how motivated (or lazy) I feel. I’m still stalled on Clapotis. I enjoyed the drop stitches for a while, but after 5 or 6 repeats, I got bored with the stockinette stitch. I think in Fall I’ll pick it up again. Yeah, the check’s in the mail, too.

Sweetie Boy had his piano recital and did a fine, fine job. After celebrating with a trip to Cold Stone’s, we relaxed by the backyard pool. Here’s a picture of Sweetie Boy, Sweetie Hubby and me after the recital. Sweetie Girl was the photographer, hence the lack of centering on the picture.

I also started on Sweetie Girl’s socks using KnitPicks Simple Stripes in Snapdragon and Priscilla’s Dream Socks pattern from the IK website. I figured I should start cranking out some socks, since I’ve been gobbling up sock yarn like a mad woman. I’m about 1 1/2″ in on the cuff, and I’m doing both at the same time using the 2 circs method. I’m using size 0 needles, which is going fine, considering they are so thin. I’m realizing I like having both needles 24″, instead of one each of 24″ and 36″. The 36″ needles are too dangly and tangle with the yarn too much. Too bad I bought sets of addi turbos in sizes 0’s, 1’s and 2’s in both 24″ and 36″. Ah well, live and learn.

Oh yeah, and I forgot to mention that I went to Unraveled this weekend because I need more yarn like I need a hole in the head, and they were having a sale, and I got an excellent employee discount, and I got… gulp… more yarn. More than half of it is for gifts but I still couldn’t resist the temptation.

Top row (l to r): Summery beach bag/knitting tote, Denise needle set (thought I should have it in case I needed some really long cables for a long project), Louet MerLin Avalon in bluish green, Crystal Palace Cotton Chenille in burgundy and moss green
Middle row (l to r): Addi turbos sz 6 in 24″, BSA Organic Cotton in beige and off white, more Crystal Palace Cotton Chenille in lime and orange
Bottom row (l to r): BSA Alpaca in red and orange, Koigu KPPM in multicolored and tangerine

4 responses to “

  1. You all look so happy! What a nice family pic (centering notwithstanding). Your wobbly tote is looking great! Almost half done!

    And girlfriend, that is a haul to be PROUD of!! All luscious!

  2. Hey, you snuck a Denise set in, too. Righteous stash enhancement!

    Wobble on, sister.

  3. Lovely wobbly! I like the idea of stripes on the other side – like a reversible bag, you’d have two bags in one. 🙂

  4. Glad to see I’m not the only one indulging in stash enhancement, as well as family activities! I can hardly wait for next Wed’s SnB session!

Leave a Reply

