Knitting ADD

I feel like I’m having a bit of a hard time focusing on my knitting projects. I get excited to start on a new project, cast on, do a few rows to get a good feel for the project, get bored, see something new and shiny and run off to start that, only to have the same thing happen. Fessin’ up time. This is what I have OTN: my stalled wobbly circles tote which I have decided to set aside until it’s cooler, clapotis which is in the same boat as my wobbly tote, picovoli which is one of my current projects d’ujour, koigu wristwarmers which are a birthday gift, ballband warshcloth from Mason Dixon, a crocheted scarf from Happy Hooker and a tiny crocheted cap for Sweetie Girl’s American Girl Doll (I ran out of yarn mid-project).

Some of this may be brought on by my major stash enhancement, as of late. My sister and niece wanted to work on booga bags with Noro Kureyon, so we put together an order from WEBS. And no project is really a project for me unless I have a goal. So the goal was to hit the dollar mark where you get 25% off yarn. I am, if nothing else, a highly experienced and successful shopper. I decided to do a bit of yarn tasting with their Valley Yarns line, and got a ball or two of Berkshire, Berkshire Bulky, Longmeadow, Stockbridge, and Sugarloaf. I’ve also been wanting to try some alternative fibers, so I got some balls of Elsebeth Lavold Hempathy, South West Trading Company Karaoke, and Plymouth Royal Bamboo. I have fondled a bit but haven’t had time to swatch. I’m too afraid of this droppingmycurrentprojectslikeahotpotatoandchasingafteranewone condition I have right now. Trying to show some discipline, mind you.

I should also mention that Unraveled had an impromptu fishbowl sale, and employees get a generous discount too. I had to get that Debbie Bliss Cotton Angora that was further marked down from its already on sale price of $5.99. In the end, I got the Debbie Bliss Cotton Angora pattern book, enough yarn for the Lola sweater for Sweetie Girl and for the Mary sweater for the distracted knitter. I am dorky enough to think that a sweater with my namesake is a sign that it should be made and worn by me. I also acquired 13 skeins of Blue Sky Alpaca 100% Alpaca in *RED* to make the slouchy cardigan in Greetings from the Knit Cafe. People, I am yarned out! Well, at least for now… I’m driving up to San Francisco today for a few days of touristy sightseeing. Who knows, we might see a yarn store or 2 in the city.

Sorry for the lack of pictures. Hopefully, we’ll have some good ones after we return from San Fran. Cheers!

5 responses to “

  1. It’s always so much fun to stash enhance with friends! Webs is such a great place, and I’m glad I got to see it in person. They do the 25% discount there at the store as well, and (blush) I hit it. I hope your trip to SanFran is a good one–has to be cooler there than here! You can scout out the LYS for us all–another yarn crawl, maybe??

  2. While you’re in SF, be sure to hit artfibers (on Sutter St., I think!) You can swatch up any of their yarns there, and it’s all stuff they have made for them in Italy and Japan. Lots of lovely silks, etc., and only available from them!

    If you’re in the Mission, Imaginknits is also a nice shop!

    Have a great time!
    OSSP

  3. That doesn’t seem like sooo many projects! Besides, if you’re having fun who cares!

    Sounds like you got a great selection of stuff at WEBS – that 25% off goal is a good one!

    I hit the Unraveled sale, but didn’t get too much. A handful. Sounds like you got some extra-yummy yarns!

  4. OSSP, You’re wonderful. I just sent an email to my local knit-sisters for recommendations on yarn stores and now I got yours. Funny, those were the 2 stores I was planning to check out. Hmmmmm…. now I know a little bit more about you. You know SF well but live in Japan. Need more clues! Thanks again!

  5. Hope you’re having fun in SF, Mary. Such a great town in which to vacation. Looking forward to hearing about Artfibers if you make it there – the store sounds super cool, and their yarns divine. (I’m using their Tsuki for my Birch, and have heard Hana’s to dye for. Yuk yuk.)

    I’m feeling like you – the yarn enhancement has been crazy lately, but what are girls to do when there are such good sales going on?! Ditto on the knitting ADD – maybe the heat has something to do with it?

    See you soon, knittin’ sister.

Leave a Reply

