I’m Baaaack!


We’re back from San Francisco and we had a marvelous time. These are pictures taken from Angel Island. I love how they show the fog rolling in and the Golden Gate Bridge just peeking out. Unfortunately, I only hit one yarn store, and I showed a remarkable amount of self-restraint. I went to a LYS in Berkeley that had a nice selection of yarns. I was just starting to get into the groove of checking out and fondling all the yarns, when I was yanked out of my reverie by the reality of impatient kids. Oh well. I walked out with a lovely skein of Louet Gems Opal in aqua to make the Simply Lovely Lace Socks from IK Spring 2006… someday.


Paula, my college buddy, was our gracious hostess, and we had such a wonderful time. She opened up her home to us and made us feel so welcome. She is simply the best. It’s always great to connect with a friend after 20 years and feel that not much as changed, besides my hair color and the lines on my face. Here’s a sampling of the wonderful time we had.


Here we are at Fort Funston overlooking the ocean. It was such a clear, beautiful day. Usually, when there’s a bit more wind, hang gliders take off from that point.


Alcatraz Island… Take my kids, please!


We visited Angel Island and took a tram-tour. Angel Island is of special significance for us, as my grandfather entered the states here in the 1910’s. He was about 12 or 13 and stayed on Angel Island for about 3 months before heading to Los Angeles. The island had a disappointingly small amount of information on the Chinese Immigrants who were held there, just a short video in the visitor center. The actual site itself was under reconstruction, so we couldn’t get close to it. It was exciting but disappointing at the same time.


Ghirardelli Soda Fountain and Shoppe at Ghirardelli Square: what else is there to say, except MAJOR sugar crash after the delicious dark chocolate hot fudge sundae?


We took a tour at Cal (UC Berkeley for those of you *not* in the know), and then headed up to the football stadium. Even though we are die hard Bruins, we like Cal enough to wear their t-shirts. The picture of the parking permit is one of my favorites from this trip. Parking is at a premium on and around campus. This was a prime parking spot located in right in the heart of campus. Can you guess what the NL stands for? Nobel. Laureate. People, I was in the presence of greatness. Okay, well almost. I stood in the empty parking space where a Nobel Laureate has parked his/her car. Still pretty cool in my book.


The kids and grown ups ran around the Exploratorium which is like a giant hands-on science fair for kids and adults.

We also visited Lombard Street and Chinatown but sorry, no pictures! All in all, a really great time. Now, back to our regularly scheduled summer program…

One response to “

  1. Welcome back! Looks like you had a great time and perfect weather! Only 1 store and 1 skein – that is some restraint! Wow!

Leave a Reply

