Not F.O.rgotten


I’m back from vacation and had a dandy time. You know how some people are happy to be back home from vacation? Not I. I personally enjoy our week of family camp at Lake Arrowhead in the San Bernardino Mountains. A week long of doing whatever-the-heck you feel like doin’. Kids taken care of by college kids who have boundless energy. All. Day. Long. Meals prepared for you. Dishes washed for you. Beds made for you. Young, energetic people sing, dance and entertain you. Only 51 more weeks until I go back. Can’t wait. You can see from this picture how happy the Sweeties are at camp.


Here’s my LaLa Shawl being blocked within an inch of its life. The pattern is in Greetings from the Knit Cafe. It was supposed to be a scarf but I wanted it to be a light cover up for evenings at our family camp vacation. Of course, after I aggressively blocked it, I remembered the directions said to block lightly. Ha! And here’s a picture of Sweetie Girl modeling it.

Project: La La Scarf
Yarn: KnitPicks Shadow in Grape Jelly for the main color, Jewels and Campfire for the edge. I have a ton of the yarn left over, as you get 440 yds of each color. Didn’t use much, even of the main color.
Needles: Started on Bryspun straight needless US10.5 but really dislike straights, so switched early on to Denises made into a circular.
Notes: I think you were supposed to do 4 sets of repeats and I did 6 to make it bigger. I also crocheted the picot edge because it was easier. However, my blocked picots are a bit too finger-like. If I were to make this pattern again, I would try to control my blocking urge a bit more. All-in-all, a nice easy project to get a taste of lace. A lace expert I am not, nor am I typically a lace lover. However, I can appreciate a light, feminine, lacy project. After looking at the picture in the book, I might re-block it to get the curly ruffled edge. We’ll see how long I can stay focused on it.

OTN: Single Cable Scarf using Blue Sky Organic Cotton from One Skein for my One Skein Secret Pal. Sorry, can’t post a picture yet but I can tell you that I simply love this yarn for its softness. I stop every so often to fondle and marvel at it.

2 responses to “

  1. Glad you had a lovely vacation- I was ready to stay at the beach for another week (although the 100 degree days made Fl seem cool). The scarf (shawl?) looks lovely. Hope you get lots of use out of it!

  2. Welcome back! That does sound like a divine time!

    Your La La is gorgeous, too!

Leave a Reply

