More FOs


Here are the alpaca wristwarmers I finished while on vacation. They’re a gift for my wonderful friend, Pookie, who hosted us for our recent San Francisco vacation. I started them on the drive north and, innocently and unrealistically, had hoped I’d finish them while still up there. I guess the extreme sight-seeing we did up there got in the way of knitting time. Anyway, here are the details:

Project: Alpaca Wristwarmers
Yarn: Blue Sky 100% Alpaca, 1 skein of red (#23) and 1 skein of paprika (#211). Double stranded and used all of it.
Needles: Denise needles US6, 2 wristwarmers on 2 circs

Thoughts: Using my Target food scale, I made 2 double-stranded yarn cakes of approximate equal weight. Can I tell you how challenging that is while in a moving car on I5? Not recommended for the faint of heart or those who are overly concerned with details. Miraculously, the yarn cakes were so close in weight and size that there was only about 1 yard difference between the two. Not too shabby for my little handy-dandy el cheapo scale. As for the pattern, I actually messed up the original pattern design, and I had to make it a …ahem… design element. It was supposed to be the Bulky Moss Rib Gauntlets from La Petite Knitterie, a simple 2 row repeat, but I messed up the directions. Sheesh… it couldn’t have gotten much easier, but when I realized it, I was too far along and still suffered from the I-can-finish-it-this-trip hallucinations. Voila, they became Bulky Diagonal Rib-like Gauntlets. Fraught with errors, but as always, knit with a little bit o’ heart. I would definitely make this again, only make sure I closely followed and learned the pattern repeat.

Here’s an ooooooold FO from half a year ago. It’s Grumperina’s Odessa hat without the beads. I made it in my kungfu school colors, so I could keep warm while training on weapons or hand forms outside. I left the beads out because I wanted this hat to say tough, not girly-girl. But then again, if I added some sparkly beads, it could potentially blind my opponent. Hmmm, may have to rethink this.


Project: Odessa cap
Yarn: Cascade Superwash in black, Plymouth Encore Worsted in gold
Needles: Addi turbos US4 and US6

Thoughts: It was really fun to watch the swirl pattern evolve from the ssks and k2togs. The hat doesn’t look so great on me, so I got my willing Sweetie Girl to model. I definitely plan on making another one of these (famous last words!) using the recommended Rowan Cashsoft DK with the beads for Sweetie Girl. I already have the yarn in my stash in this lovely stawberry pink color. It’s soft, squooshy and a delight to fondle.

3 responses to “

  1. Cute accessories! Sweetie girl looks adorable in your Odessa!

  2. Hmmm… make an Odessa for Sweetie Girl, then make a mini one for her AG. You ought to have enough yarn left over for that, right?? And yes, you caught me–I used to make mini-things for the girls’ dolls with the leftover yarn from their sweaters, too.

  3. LOVE your wrist warmers!!! Now we just need some cool weather, yes?

Leave a Reply

