For my downstream One Skein Secret Pal

This is the third and final gift for my One Skein Secret Pal. It’s the Single Cable Scarf from the One Skein book. I hope she likes it!

Project: Single Cable Scarf
Yarn: Blue Sky Organic Cotton, a little less than 2/3 skein of sage green (#83) and a little more than 1/3 skein of bone (#80)
Needles: Denise US8

Thoughts: The book shows it all in one color but this pattern was one of the rare times that I had a vision to change it from the original. I thought the cable would really pop in a contrasting color, so I took a chance. I’m glad I did because the stitch definition is better. Even with this straightforward scarf, the blocking was really necessary to let the scarf drape correctly. I used my scunci steamer and was so pleased to watch the stitches relax before my very eyes.


Before blocking


After blocking

The softness is incredible. I know I have waxed on … and on … and on about the feel of this yarn, and all I can say is I love it even more now. I hope my OSSP loves it too!

My friend watched me work on it at Sweetie Girl’s soccer practice and she got a chance to fondle it. She just called to ask for the pattern because she has been obsessing over it. At practice, I showed her how easy it was to cable, and genius that she is, she went home and figured it right out without any additional help. In the sage words of Jillian, world domination continues!

3 responses to “

  1. That scarf looks wonderful! Your OSP is going to love it. I need to try out the Blue Sky yarns- I’ve heard the cotton is wonderful (not to mention the Alpaca). The wrist warmers and the Odessa were also great. Isn’t Odessa fun- sweetie girl definitely needs her very own. I think I’m going to make a few more, and I love the two colors. Great knitting!

  2. That turned out wonderfully! And you say you don’t knit quickly. Pish-tosh.

    My Rowenta mini konked out on me yesterday (sniff) and I have been debating about getting a Scunci Steamer instead. Sounds like you like yours!

  3. You were right to do the cable in a contrasting color–that looks great! Lucky OSSP!

Leave a Reply

