Sock Madness

I’ve been collecting sock yarn for the past few months, and funny thing is, I’ve only knitted two pairs of sock before, the last pair was during the Knitting Olympics. I have this dream of becoming a kick-butt sock knitter but haven’t kicked it into gear yet. So what does one crazy person do to make herself become more proficient at sock knitting? She signs herself up for Knittin’ Mom’s Sock-a-Month 2. The idea is to knit at least one pair of socks each month for six months, starting in August. I justified it by committing to using stash yarn, and that they would be Christmas gifts. I have a gift for justifying just about anything.

OTN: a pair of socks for Sweetie Girl that I had starting working on a few months ago and languished in the abandoned WIP pile. I’m using KnitPicks Simple Stripes in some discontinued color (Snapdragon maybe?) to make Priscilla’s Dream Socks featured on the Interweave website, as recommended by Patty. I’m doing 2 socks on 2 circs, and enjoying it as always. I had started on US 0s but it was too tight, so I switched to US 1s. I’ve finished the gobs and gobs of ribbing for the cuff and just started on the little bit of stockinette before I work on the heel. It’s a short-row heel and toe pattern, so I’m looking forward to learning a new technique.

Here are the few rows of stockinette on each of the socks before starting on the heels. The beginning of each ball of yarn started at a different color, so the striping is off. They’re crazy and will be all the better for Sweetie Girl. I love watching the white on the yarn become a fair-isley pattern. Definitely prevents the doldrums from setting in!

What other socks do I have in mind for future months? Simply Lovely Lace Socks from IK Spring 2006 with a skein of Louet Gems Opal. I’m also looking forward to knitting a pair from Charlene Schurch’s Sensational Knitted Socks. Can’t forget the Cabled Footies from One Skein. Gotta jump on the Jaywalker bandwagon too. See how quickly I begin to obsess and get all hyper and excited for new projects? Must. F-O-C-U-S.

Won’t you join me in the Sock-a-Month 2? I was able to convince Madge to do it with me, as she wants to become sock-knitting proficient too! She’s the best and definitely my knit-sister. It’s gonna be a kickin’ good time!

2 responses to “

  1. You’re gonna rock at the SAM2 KAL! Me, probably not so much…I guess it’s time to get personal with my (practice) ball of red Encore for my first pair of (practice) socks.

    Oh, I did go to Knit Cafe’s sale yesterday, and bought some sock yarn, just in case I actually finish my practice pair and move onto real ones. Yay.

    P.S. But turning the heel still scares me.

  2. Hi there. Thanks for the tip about SAM2. I’ll be joining it for sure!

    Your socks are looking good. Can’t wait to see it finished. I must try 2 socks on 2 circulars method.

Leave a comment