The Crazy Socks are Done!
Sweetie Girl is getting ready for first grade with a little bit of light reading. Okay, I’ll admit it. It’s just about the only thing that she can read right now, but we have high hopes for this school year.

That’s right; I finished Sweetie Girl’s crazy socks just in time for my first month of Sock-a-month 2. Only 5 more socks to go. But who’s counting? Here are some better images of the socks themselves.

Project: Priscilla’s Dream Socks from IK 2000
Yarn: KnitPicks Simple Stripes in Snapdragon (?)
Needles: Addi Turbos US 1, 2 socks on 2 circs

Thoughts: The short rows almost killed me, folks. It was definitely a challenge and I spent WAY TOO MANY hours on the heels and toes. I turned the first heel and did it completely wrong, so I got help with the second heel from the wonderful, amazing Beth who walked me through it with the patience of a saint. She’s Saint Beth to me now. A few nights later after finishing the length of the foot, I sat down and did a perfect short row toe on my first try. Oops, then I realized I did it on the top of the foot, so the seam would be under the toes. Wrong! So I ripped it. That would turn out to be the first of many froggings. Between the toes on both socks, I think I ripped it apart at least 5 times. 5 times! Crazy. Yes. I am. I’d lose count and end up with more yarnovers on one side than the other. Or I would accidentally drop a k3tog or sssp and it would unravel too much. Then the yarn split. I have this problem with yarn splitting on me, and I’m sure it has to do with my technique. My final tale of woe… I was moving the last yarnover on the second sock’s toe to the needle on the other side and dropped it accidentally. Short rows and stitches began unfurling before my eyes. I tried to pick them up and do fancy things with them. It looked bad. B.A.D. So I frogged it one last time and determinedly got through the short row toe one last time. Phew, I am done.

Bad heel!

Good heel!

Through all that pain, I do love the look of a short row heel and toe and will do it again on the next sock in September. Isn’t it September at the end of this week? I need to go lie down.

3 responses to “

  1. I love the colors!

  2. The colors are wonderful and they turned out beautiful for all your work!!

    I have not yet tried a short row heel or toe, but that’s one of my goals, so I may email you for encouragement…

  3. Yeah, sure, the socks are great, wonderful color combination, but I can’t believe kids are still reading “Dick and Jane” in school! It’s been over 45 years since I was in first grade and read that classic. Do Dick and Jane still have a dog named Jip? Inquiring minds need to know!

    Ellen B.

Leave a Reply

