Casting On (Again!)


Stealth project #1 is complete, and I’m casting on for stealth project #2. If I have time, there will be a stealth project #3 but it’s iffy. Doncha just love deadline knitting? I am that kinda crazy person who does, and then I add another project with the same deadline, just to mix things up a bit. Challenge, mi amigas cheetahs, challenge. That’s the name of the game.

Stealth project #1 was really cool because the little bits and pieces I’ve learned about sock knitting have kinda jelled together. Turkish cast on for toe-up socks. Check. Short row heels. Check. However, I know I have so much more to learn, so my mantra is… just keep knitting, just keep knitting, just keep knitting. That’s me, Dory the forgetful blue fish. Casting on for stealth project #2 is pretty much the same as for #1… same toe-up cast on. Just perfecting it.

There is exciting news that I can talk about and even show you. The beaded evening bag by Patty, Ms. BasicKnits Coffee and Knitting herself. The bag will match a pair of killer steel grey fancy schmancy beaded high-heel sandals. Patty designed the pattern and teaches the beaded evening bag class at Unraveled. It’s really a delightful new sensory experience, knitting with beads.


The deadline for the evening bag? September 30th. Did I mention the deadline for the stealth projects is October 1st. Heh heh heh. Nutso. I know.

Special thanks to KnitDevil herself for taking these marvelous pictures. My camera is on strike, maybe because it did not appreciate being dropped… a coupla times.

7 responses to “

  1. The bag looks great! I’m so glad you are enjoying knitting the bag. I fear dragging all the beads down will make people curse me to the knitting gods, but it is good to see that your progress is going well. Thanks for the encouragement about the blog too! 🙂

  2. The bag is looking great! That’s a great shade of purple/ lavender/ violet/ whatever! Knitting with beads, okay doing anything with beads, is sure fun, and addictive. Pretty soon it’s the yarn shop, then the bead shop, back to the yarn shop… Just keep knitting!

  3. Oh my gawd, this bag looks so divine! What an amazing pattern, and the colorline you’re using is definitely my fave – gorgeous! I do admire you for being able to do so well with deadline knitting, I’m afraid I’d have no chance with that, I’d mess up everything right out of nervosity! ;(

  4. What a gorgeous bag! I can’t wait to see it finished. Hopefully the evening will be as great as it looks. 11 days- it can be done (as long as it’s not too big). Just keep knitting….

  5. Yum! I can’t wait to see it finished. I might have to make one for myself. I haven’t tried knitting with beads yet. I love your mantra ‘just keep knitting’!

  6. Love the beaded bag. The colour is gorgeous. Must try beaded knitting soon.

  7. Oh my! Pretty.

Leave a Reply

