Socktoberfest

Since it’s Socktoberfest and I’m still in the thick of Sock-a-Month 2 and I’m such a joiner, here are my SIP, socks-in-progress for those of you *not* in the know:

They’re inspired by One Skein’s Cabled Footies but I hated the idea of doing top down socks. Instead, I’m doing the 5 stitch pattern socks from Sensational Knitted Socks (my newest knitting bible). They’re toe-up 2 socks on 2 circs with the Yarn over Cable pattern. These are for a dear and long-time friend who had surgery today to remove a breast cancer lump. My thoughts are with her, and I’ll drop by for a visit in a coupla days and bring her these. Hopefully, these’ll cheer her up a bit, although I have to say she’s in quite good spirits, all things considered. The worst part of all this, if you were to ask her, is having her mom stay with her to “help” take care of her, even though Mom won’t drive a car in LA. Oy! Here’s a close up picture of the stitch pattern:

Anyhoo, the yarn is KnitPicks new Swish Superwash in Bordeaux, and I simply love it. Super soft and squishy. A dream to work with, and I love trying on the footies every so often just to feel the yarn again and again. I definitely recommend this yarn to others for any projects. I could only imagine that it will soften up even more after a run through the washer and dryer. I’m considering it for the Vanille Sweater for Sweetie Husband. Blue Sky Organic Cotton that the pattern calls for or Swish Superwash. Not that he cares much but I do!

4 responses to “

  1. I love the color Mary. Wow! And the pattern is beautiful. I haven’t fully embraced the sock knitting craze, but you’re inspiring me to jump in.

  2. Wow – those are going to be beautiful. I hope everything turns out well for your friend!

    And thanks for the review of Swish!

  3. Looking good! Love the cable pattern you’re using and the yummy color, too.

    Passing along kind thoughts for your friend’s quick recovery.

  4. Ahhh, this one is gorgeous! I *so* love the pattern, this is definitely a “Must Try”! The color you chose is so warm and beautiful – this is going to be the perfect pair of socks!
    All the very best wishes to your friend for a quick recovery!

Leave a Reply

