A Pair and a Questionnaire


Project: Yarn over Cable footies. Sock pattern from Sensational Knitted Socks.
Yarn: KnitPicks Swish Superwash in Bordeaux, 2 balls
Needles: Denise US size 7s, 2 socks on 2 circs method

Thoughts: The yarn was simply to-die for, and I will definitely use it again, either for more footies for gifts and/or sweater for Sweetie Husband. I enjoyed the yarn THAT much. The needles were a drag. The joins kept pulling on the socks, making it hard to slide the working cable and needle into position. I can’t wait until my birthday next month, when I’m going to ask Sweetie Husband to get me the KnitPicks Options set. I really enjoyed making these footies and the new pattern was fun. The next pair of footies will probably be a traditional cable instead, just for that classic look.

In honor of Socktoberfest, here’s Lolly’s questionnaire.

When did you start making socks? Did you teach yourself or were you taught by a friend or relative? or in a class?
I made my first pair of actual socks for the Knitting Olympics in 2006. I followed an online pattern, recommended by the wise and wonderful Patty, called the basic sock chart.

What was your first pair? How have they “held up” over time?
I used KnitPicks Parade yarn with their toe up 2 socks at the same time pattern, and really didn’t enjoy it. The pattern wasn’t clear enough for me, so the toe had a tiny rectangle on the top of it and the decreases on the heel created a nipple. The yarn was pretty scratchy, so Sweetie Boy doesn’t like wearing them much. But, hey! I completed my challenge. For training for the Knitting Olympics, I made a pair of footies using pink Encore Worsted stash yarn. Sweetie Girl still wears them occasionally, as I find them crumpled up in the corner of her room now and again. They are softer after the few runs through the washer and dryer but still look the same.

What would you have done differently?
Not done that pattern and chosen one with a different toe and a short row heel, because I absolutely love the doing short row heel on Priscilla’s Dream Socks. I only make those now. However, you have to live through your experiences and learn from them. How else would I know what I like had I not stumbled around blindly and made a few loser FOs?

What yarns have you particularly enjoyed?
I have used another KnitPicks yarn, Simple Stripes, and it was just okay. Kinda scratchy. I have made 2 pairs for a baby gift using Koigu KPPPM and those were absolutely wonderful… the feel of the yarn through your fingers, the variegated colors, the softness after the Eucalan dip. Aaahhhh… I just got a hank of STR in sherbet and although I haven’t knit them up yet, I’m fully expecting they’ll rock just as their reputation states. I also have hanks of Cherry Tree Hill Supersock and Opal Gems that feel super squishy and hold lots of promise. I just finished a pair of footies using KnitPicks Swish Superwash that came out surprisingly luxurious. So much sock yarn, so little time.

Do you like to crochet your socks? or knit them on DPNs, 2 circulars, or using the Magic Loop method?
Crochet? Ack! No. I don’t enjoy the look of crocheted socks. I made the first footie using dpns and the second with 2 circs. They were a traditional top down heel flap, and I didn’t enjoy picking up along the heel flap. Yuck. Since then, I’ve been a 2 socks on 2 circs gal all the way. No time to waste making the second sock. Better to make ‘em both at the same time. Efficiency’s the name of the game. Oh yeah, enjoying the experience is important too.

Which kind of heel do you prefer? (flap? or short-row?)
In my extensive sock-making history , I have made 3 types of heels: flap, afterthought and short-row. I made the footies with a traditional top down heel flap, and I didn’t enjoy picking up along the heel flap. Yuck. The first socks had an afterthought heel (I think), and didn’t like the nipple caused by too many decreases. Short-rows are the way to go in my book.

How many pairs have you made?
I just finished my 7th pair. I sure act like I’ve made more, huh? I’m waiting for my Halloween Supersock Instant Gratification yarn to come in the mail to start my next pair. And perhaps footies might be in the cards for holiday gifts.

5 responses to “

  1. Those are gorgeous! You are getting so fast!

    See you tomorrow 🙂

  2. Rockin’ sox!

  3. I totally love these socks – the pattern is so gorgeous, and so is the color of the yarn you were using! And the yarn itself looks exactly as yummy, warm and cozy as you described it to be – so this makes for the absolutely perfect sock! Fantastic work!

  4. awesome socks … great detail 🙂 enjoyed reading your blog

  5. I’ve been trying to knit a pair of socks with this little cable pattern, and haven’t had any luck with the chart. In my copy of Sensational Knitted Socks, the chart decreases two stitches in the first row, then only increases by one stitch. I was wondering how you managed to get yours to turn out so nicely, and where the additional increase comes from to make this pattern work. Yours looks so nice!

Leave a Reply

