She Did the Mash

As promised, here are the details on the Monster Mash socks that just slid in under the wire.

Project: Monster Mash Socks. Toe-up with chevron pattern from Sensational Knitted Socks.
Yarn: Country Hill Instant Gratification Sock Yarn in Monster Mash, 1 hank
Needles: Options US size 5s, 2 socks on 2 circs method
Start: Wednesday, October 25th
Finish: Tuesday, October 31st

Thoughts: The yarn was fun to work with from a color standpoint but got a bit too fuzzy at the end. They were a blast to watch the colors come out and work together. That was definitely fun, and they were a quick knit, which is always a bonus. The needles were wonderful to use. Other than one needle unscrewing once in a while, they were perfect. The cables never got kinked, even after I smooshed them into the middle zippered compartment of the new knitting purse. I can’t wait until my entire set arrives! Since the socks were made toe-up (using the Turkish cast-on), the chevron pattern is actually upside-down. In Schurch’s Sensational Knitted Socks, the chevron pattern is featured on top-down socks. I don’t think it made a difference though. The chevrons really show off the variegation of the yarn beautifully. The socks are a bit tight, as this pattern is known for, and I have to do a bit of tugging to get them on. That said, once they’re on, they’re comfy! My first hand-knitted socks for myself.

They were a graveyard smash.

7 responses to “

  1. They were definitely a smash today! And I don’t think it’s very noticeable that the chevrons are upside down, after all, half of them are right side up no matter which way you look at them. (Besides, putting them inside your boots made the whole point moot!)

  2. Your MMs are spooktacular. Totally zany and fun. The chevrons are upsidedown? Who knew? That just adds to their wackiness.

    Kudos for getting them done before the SAM2 deadline, too. You mash hard. Totally.

  3. They look even better in person. Too cool to hide in boots. LOL I can’t wait to see your next sock creation.

    I had lots of fun today.

  4. Love the socks! I wish I could finish a pair of socks in only 6 days….

    xxx
    Your Secret Pal 🙂

  5. Absolutely gorgeous – these socks rock big time! Great job!

  6. These rock! Congrats.

    Actually, I’m making the same pattern right now for DH in Koigu. I hope they turn out as well as yours.

  7. Pretty colors! I’ve been looking at that pattern and thinking about doing some. Are there more socks for yourself in your future?

Leave a Reply

