Look! Up in the Sky! It’s a FO!

I know, I know. It feels like it has been forever since I’ve been able to show you a FO. Well, here it is. Officially, the first holiday gift of the season. They’re Fetching wristwarmers and they were oh-so-fast to knit up. I truly enjoyed making them. Shhhh… they’re for my niece for Christmas, so don’t tell, okay? Here they are hand-modeled for you.

Project: Fetching Wristwarmers
Yarn: Valley Yarns Stockbridge in Willow colorway
Needles: Options US size 5s, 2 wristwarmers on 2 circs method
Start: Saturday, November 25th
Finish: Sunday, November 26th

Thoughts: Yes, I did this in one day. It was a quick knit and super satisfying. You also didn’t see the state of my house and me, after spending the whole day knitting in front of the TV. It was one of those glorious days where you sit around in your pajamas all day long. Ahem… TMI, sorry. This is the first time I used this yarn, Stockbridge, that’s sold under WEBS’ label, Valley Yarns. It’s 50% alpaca and 50% wool. I *love* the softness of Alpaca, and I was a bit concerned about the scratchiness of the yarn while knitting it. These softened up quite a bit after their Eucalan bath. A bit too many guard hairs, so it’s a teensy bit scratchy, but quite nice overall. The light, pale green color of this yarn, I really love too. As for the pattern, I really enjoyed the simplicity of it, and especially how the finished result looks more complicated than it actually was. I will definitely make a second pair, perhaps third.

Lest you think I haven’t been stash enhancing lately, I offer you this: November’s installment of Scout’s Indie Swag Club. The yarn is called pomegranate, which I truly love. The gift cards are from GlamScience and are featured in Interweave Knits Holiday Gifts. See the wonderful fall colors?

Want a closer look? How’s this? Reminds me of pumpkin pie, sweet potatoes, cranberry sauce and gravy. I’m all about the food, people.

What’s that behind the wristwarmers in the picture above, you ask? Why, it’s another FO. The SKB… finally! Here it is before weaving in ends and tacking down the neckline. It’s still on the blocking board air drying, and hopefully I’ll be able to get a good official FO picture of it tomorrow.

7 responses to “

  1. Your Fetchings are fetching. They look great. (Now I want to make a pair more than ever. And SKB is finished – yahoo!

    Love the Swag colorway. (dare I say much better than your first skein?) What a fun treat to get.

  2. YAY! SKB is finished and ti looks great!

    Now I want to make the Fetchings… guess I’m going to have to do some stash diving to find some yarn now. Beautiful Fetchings by the way.

  3. Those gloves are so pretty-love the color. Your niece will love them.

    The pomegranite yarn is going to knit up something beautiful. It does look like a turkey dinner. LOL

  4. Looks like you got over the knitting doldrums! Love the fetchings. For some reason the picot trim on my first pair failed, and I gave up on that part-yours looks great. Well worth the messy house and the day in front of the TV (especially since I did that for about 4 days in a row!)

    And your SKB! Yeah! Looks great- I see you went with the short sleeves. If I do it again, short sleeves will be it for me too.

  5. Congrats on finishing your SKB! It’s beautiful. It feels good to finish up a larger project, doesn’t it? Now you can start something new!

    I’ve made 3 pairs of the fetching gloves. The pattern is fast and easy. I love the final product. I’ll be making more until I finally feel fetched-out. Yours look great.

  6. I’ve done three pairs of Fetching with plans for two more! Can’t wait to see the finished, modeled SKB. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

    🙂 Your SP

  7. Wow you’ve been busy. You’re Fetchings are great! It is a pretty and quick pattern for sure.

    Can’t wait to see your fully-FO SKB!

Leave a Reply

