Le Simple Knitted Bodice, she is done!

At long last, here she is. And here I am looking forward to my next project.

Project: Simple Knitted Bodice
Yarn: Anny Blatt Merinos in Chocolat, under 7 balls
Needles: Addi Turbos and KnitPicks Options US size 6 for the body and sleeves and size 1 lace panels and purl ridges
Start: October 1st
Finish: November 26th

Thoughts: In my four years of knitting, I think this is my very first truly wearable garment I have made. I’m not counting the scarves, hats, wristwarmers, and socks. I really love the color, the drape, the fit. I’m really beside myself with this sweater; it’s almost like an early Christmas present for me. The yarn was really wonderful to work with, and it was alredy in my stash, which is an extra bonus.

Modifications: It was a sport weight yarn, so luckily I got stitch gauge. Row gauge was a different issue. I added a few more rows at the bottom to get the right length. Based on Silvia’s advice, I made the lace panel at the waist two inches instead of three. I opted for the short sleeves, because it was more versatile for our Southern California weather. It was a chilly 60 degrees today, perfect for long sleeved tee underneath. I definitely recommend this pattern. It was clearly written and the two row stitch pattern for lace panel was easy to remember. I may make it again some day, but I would definitely use worsted weight yarn where I got row gauge. I think it would go a lot faster. Next up: holiday knitting, featuring quick and easy projects.

24 responses to “

  1. um…glad we didn’t race.

    it looks gorgeous! and i’m sooooo jealous that you’re already done. i’ve almost finished the first sleeve (long version), so i’ll be caught up to you next week.

    πŸ™‚

  2. Lovely! Thanks for sharing.

    πŸ™‚ SP

  3. So cute! I love it!

  4. You and Jillian look so cute in your tops. That turned out so good. Make sure you wear it next time you are at the store!!

  5. Your SKB looks GREAT! Perfect fit, lovely color, wonderful detailing. Well done!

  6. Beautiful work! I wish I could see it in person.

  7. Woohoo! It looks wonderful!

  8. Very cool! Looks fantastic on. Great job. What else can I say? Maybe I’ll get to see it “live” someday.

  9. Very nice! It came out so pretty πŸ™‚ I’m stalled out on mine…but I’ll get there eventually!

  10. Wow, you’re SKB looks great! Very flattering πŸ™‚

  11. It looks great!

  12. Perfect!! You look like quite a glamourama is that first picture. It turned out so well, and just in time for chilly weather!

  13. Really beautiful! I love that color. Don’t you love knowing that you can really wear it too (I’m still in that phase when only a portion of what I make is wearable)!? Glad to know I helped in the process- the fit is perfect on you.
    I think we should plan to start our ribbon tanks some time in January- too much holiday stuff in the meantime!

  14. Just saw your post on my blog…
    Post Christmas knitting works for me- who knows, with some time off that top may be done quickly (famous last words). BTW- I love the big head/short body look- what’s more attractive than a lollipop?

  15. Now see, that would look cute on TV….

  16. It looks great! I have the pattern… I may just have to get going on a short-sleeved version for myself!

  17. k8jlew at gmail dot com – sorry, I couldn’t find your email addy in the yarn crawl emails

  18. wow, your SKB looks great! and i love that color!

  19. Gorgeous!!!!

  20. Your SKB looks great on you! You finished it quick too. Congrats on a job well done. πŸ™‚

  21. Wow wow, this is great! beautiful color and a great fit. You look awesome! πŸ™‚ Enjoy your new top!

  22. Awesome! It looks great and it’s just icing that it fits you so well too!

  23. Blogger ate my last comment so here goes again. This is a great job and looks terrific on you! However, I might quibble with you a bit–I thought your Orangina was a great piece of work, and looked really great on you, too.

  24. Looks fab!!! Love it, love it, love it!! I have to finish some holiday knitting before starting this.

Leave a Reply

