Hello… Is this thing on?

I didn’t want you to think I’d forgotten about you. Holiday knitting is in full force right now, and I’ve also been working quite a bit. Busy as a bee, I tell ya. That’s how I got my nickname by the way. Enough of useless trivia about me.

My one teensy bit of exciting news is that I was a knitster on Knitty Gritty this week. Cat Bordhi was the guest, and she was revealing with revolutionary new pattern that will turn sock architecture on its head. Really. I had to babble on a bit about something or other at the end, and only God knows if it was coherent. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it gets edited out. Unfortunately, just like holiday knitting, I can’t show any pictures of the sock or talk about the pattern until the show is aired and her new sock book comes out in Spring 2007. I can tell you that I’m knitting only one sock at a time on two circs, and I hope I have enough motivation to finish that second sock, if and when the first one gets done. The pattern doesn’t lend itself easily to doing two at the same time IMHO. I could tell you more details, but then I’d have to kill you.

Being a knitster was … interesting. I didn’t know what to expect, and because Cat was so clear in her directions and concise in her words, we were done rather quickly by their standards. I had to be in Burbank at 7:00 a.m.; wardrobe okayed the other two knitsters’ and my outfits; we got mic’d; the producer prepped us for our chit chat and comments, and then onto the set we went. It was kind of surreal in that, of course, I wanted to be able to chat with Vickie Howell, but she was obviously working, practicing her lines, so she didn’t have the free time. Cat was terrific, coming over often to check on the progress of our socks, holding our projects, fondling the yarn, just very interested. I definitely appreciated that.

Things moved along so quickly that I didn’t get a chance to snap any pictures. I also didn’t even think about bringing any of Cat’s books for her to sign. Doh! Scout was just arriving when I was leaving. I didn’t want to ambush her and seem like a stalker, so I just quickly introduced myself and then hit the road, Jack. I think Jordana Paige was taping the show after ours, according to Scout. I missed her too, dang!

The other two knitsters were really nice and it was fun getting to know them. One was a local boy, and the other gal from Visalia. She sported a beautiful Clapotis made from Lion and Lamb in these beautiful raspberry and chocolate colors with just a hint of green. I tried hard not to tell her which LYSs to hit and avoid before heading home, but I had to share some of my opinions, especially when she said she really wanted to go to Wildfiber. Hopefully, she swung by Unraveled. All in all, an interesting experience, and I’d have to think about whether I’d want to do it again next season. BTW, KG is now being shown on HGTV, so if you don’t get DIY in your area, look for it on HGTV!

Sorry I don’t have any pictures of KG or my holiday knitting for you. I hope to soon, when I get further along on my Mom’s felted clogs. Thanks for tuning in and talk to you soon!

9 responses to “

  1. sounds like a whirlwind of fun – if we ever get out there I’ll have to try to be a knitster. Can’t wait to see your debut!

  2. Will you know when your episode airs? I can’t wait for the new season to start!! I’m also in the trenches of holiday knitting, but still working on YOUR package! 🙂

    Your SP

  3. Now there’s something you don’t do everyday! Sounds like it was an interesting experience. I can’t wait to see you on TV!

  4. I can hardly wait to see your episode!

    Sounds like the next two seasons of KG should be pretty good…more advanced projects, less novelty yarn scarves. I’ll dig that.

    Merry, merry.

  5. Wow, that’s so cool! Too bad neither of those networks are on over here. I’d love to see it!

  6. You’re so silly! You should have stayed and checked out what I was doing. I just posted my pictures!

  7. Wow, how great is that? I’d *so* love to see your episode!!!

  8. How exciting! I did it last year, but had to bail this year because of work. I’m curious to see your episode!

  9. Such fun, to hear about your adventures! Too bad I didn’t know–I’d have sent a couple of copies of Cat Bordhi’s YA novel with you for signing! Now I’m going to HAVE to get cable…just to watch your episode, of course!

Leave a Reply

