Fast FO found at Wendy’s Drive-Thru

Okay, I’m not clever enough to work the fast food angle into the title, so that’s all you get. Here’s the finished Drive-Thru with Sweetie Girl modeling it. Fits great with some room to grow even. I had to rip out the first neck, because it looked more like a mock turtleneck, and Sweetie Girl complained that it was too itchy. She’s quite happy with it, and so am I.

Project: Drive-Thru by Wendy Bernard
Yarn: Galway worsted in medium blue (3 skeins), white (a tiny bit), and fuchsia (even tinier bit). Valley Yarns Stockbridge in Willow (green) from my stash.

Needles: KnitPicks Options sizes 7, 6, and 5
Start: December 26th
Restart: January 1st
Finish: January 6th

Thoughts: Yes, it truly lived up to its original name, the Quicko-Cheapo. Super easy to knit, the instructions were clear and well-written. As for modifications, I eliminated the last set of decreases, because it brought the neckline too high. I frogged back to the row just after the second set of decreases, put the short rows in, and worked the neck. It went into an overnight soak with lots of Sweetie Girl’s hair conditioner rubbed into it to soften it up. It helped a lot. I definitely recommend this pattern, and if you want a not-itchy yarn, check out LotusKnit’s done in KnitPicks Swish. In fact, I may make one for Sweetie Boy using Swish but all in one color.

Here’s the back.

Here’s Sweetie Girl showing off her front splits. What a ham! 😉

The pink crocheted beanie I made for her a while ago with some Cotton Tots stash yarn. Free pattern found on the internet somewhere. Photos by me. Photo styling by Sweetie Girl.

9 responses to “

  1. The sweater turned out great! I think Sweetie Girl is a cute model, especially the picture showing the back. Yes she is a ham, but a talented one.

  2. Looks great! I can think of two girls who would love to get their own. Very cute- one more thing for my list.

    I started my ribbon tank- it’s quick, and great for football watching. I’ll post a pic tomorrow.

  3. A ham in deed! So cute! She looks adorable in her Drive-Thru and she clearly loves it! Great work!

  4. The Drive-Thru looks so cute – or maybe it’s the model? And hey, if I could do splits like that, I’d be showing off too.

  5. She is so dang cute!

  6. Wow! That is super fast. It turned out great and she did a fabulous job as a model. So cute!

  7. Get that girl an agent. She’s a natural born *star*.

    And so’s your Drive Thru sweater. Awesome job.

  8. Great job on the sweater, and good work on the Sweetie Girl, too! Gotta love that smile! Hmmm… now there’s an idea for some of that yarn that found its way here… bet I know a couple of “bugs” who’d like that sweater!

  9. So cute! I’m thinking of making the quicko-cheapo cardi for my son. Great model you’ve got there 🙂

Leave a Reply

