Fable is Stalled

I seamed up one of the sides of my Fable Ribbon Shell, and it looks crappy. It’s stalled until I can get myself to one of Patty’s drop-ins and get some real professional help. Hello. My name is Mary, and I am a seaming idiot. I have to get some serious help on this finishing stuff. Until then, Fable is languishing. Hopefully, Silvia is doing better on hers.

In the meantime, while we in Southern California have been experiencing these colder than usual evenings (like in the ’40’s, totally!), I knitted up a ribbed beanie for myself with some stash Kureyon. I really disliked this picture of me, so all you get is this tiny picture of just the top part of my head. Do you know how hard it is to take a picture of yourself? Thank goodness I don’t have to do it too much.

Project: Ribbed Beanie (4×4 rib) by Woolie Wormhead

Yarn: Noro Kureyon 1 ball of color #157

Needles: Inox US sz 7 16″ circular

Start: January 14

Finish: January 15

Thoughts: Easy peasy lemon squeezy. I love this pattern and Noro’s changes of color keep this from becoming boring. It’s a tad short, but I can live with it.

I’m also working on finishing up the Cat Bordhi socks from the December Knitty Gritty episode where I was a knitster. I figured I should finish them up and they would be my last Sock-a-Month 2 sock. Sock-a-Month 3 sign ups are going on, so head over and put your name on the list. I like doing this 6 month kal because it helps me keep sock knitting on the front burner, while working on other projects.

I gotta crank out a pair of Fetchings for a friend who is moving to Northern California in 2 weeks, so hopefully I’ll be able to finish that off, so I can start Wicked.

Today is Sweetie Boy’s 10th birthday. Hard to believe. He’s no longer a baby, toddler, little boy, little kid. He’s a kid now, a regular kid, a big kid. But he’s still my baby. Happy Birthday, Sweetie Boy!

9 responses to “

  1. Do you know when your ep airs?

    Seaming can be a scourge.

  2. Oh, and Happy Birthday, Sweetie Boy!

  3. Happy birthday to Sweetie Boy! The big 1-0. That’s a good year to be.

    Right on with the continued Noro stashbusting. And sorry to hear about the Fable finishing woes…you’re so close. Fingers crossed you get it sorted out soon.

  4. Sorry the seaming has you stuck- I realized this was the first seamed sweater i’ve made in a while. Montse Stanley’s book was my lifesaver – I even managed to do a faux grafting of the shoulders.

    Happy birthday to your big kid. My big girl just grew about 2 inches, and suddenly she really is just a kid- very scary.

    Love the hat!

  5. I just found your blog. Your knit some great stuff. I was wondering if you could help me with my drive thru sweater? I am having a really hard time knitting the stitches from the sleeves on to the circular needle with the body stitches. Is there a trick? Is it cause I am using a 24 inch cord and maybe need a 32? I am making the smallest size. I would really love the help.

  6. Happy Birthday to your Sweetie Boy!!

    Bummer about Fable. patty will get you fixed right up! And your Noro hat is so pretty! We do actually need them right now.

  7. Hunny,
    I tried to link to your profile to email you but couldn’t. As for the drive-thru sweater, match up the parts on the sleeve where you bound off with the part on the body. I used the 32″ to add the sleeves but after a few rounds where I was fighting with the stitches, I switched to a 24″ and that was better. Hope that helps.
    Mary

  8. great gifts from your swap. I’ve never seen the STR heavyweight (I have lightweight) and can’t wait to see what you make with them!

  9. Love your hat! Happy Birthday to your Sweetie Boy. 🙂 Fable is going to look fabulous when you’re finished, which I’m sure will be soon.

Leave a Reply

