January Sock-a-Month 2 Socks

These are the final installment of the Sock-a-Month Knitalong 2. These are my super secret, I’d-tell-ya-but-then-I’d-have-to-kill-ya socks from Knitty Gritty. They’re Cat Bordhi’s design, and I signed an agreement not to show pictures of it, until the episode airs and her book comes out (probably Spring). So, I think this isn’t quite a picture of it. You really can’t tell what kind of socks they are, so I think I’m okay.

They’re made from Austermann Step, and I liked the yarn. Squooshy with beautiful colors, IMHO. I was making them for myself, but when I cast off last night, Sweetie Hubby surprisingly showed interested in them. They turned out a bit big on me and quite stretchy, so Sweetie Hubby put ’em on. That made me happy, since Sweetie Hubby hasn’t asked for many knit items before, and in the past he has even pooh-poohed the idea of having handknit socks for himself.

This morning bright and early, we were at Sweetie Boy’s soccer tourney, and it was chilly. Sweetie Hubby sneakily donned them, and showed me at the soccer field. I was even happier he wore them (instead of using them for house socks) that I had to snap this sneaky pic of the socks peeking out. Yay!

Sweetie Boy’s team came in 2nd in their tournament pool, so no advancing to the finals this time around. They all played well, so we were really pleased. I haven’t seen him play in a game for over 2 months, and I missed it so. Here are some pics of his fancy footwork.

5 responses to “

  1. Yay Sweetie Husband! A hat and now socks – right on!

    Congrats for successfully finishing SAM2. Really impressive you managed this on top of your other knitting projects.

    And Beckham needs to watch out for Sweetie Boy. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Yay for secret socks, and double yay for SH in adopting and wearing them! And congrats to SB, too…that is some nice footwork! We’ll be watching for him in the World Cup one of these years!

  3. ooh, that is fancy footwork. So fun, soccer, socks, sweetie family stuff ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Looks like the hubby is coming around. I see a sweater in his future yet! Great action photos of SB. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Glad to see you were able to complete the secret sock. This was a challange and you should be proud…….Love your blog. I finally jumped on the blog band wagon.

    thejollyewe…..AKA Carolyn “the other female knitster”

Leave a Reply

