Stuff. Just Stuff.

Frog Stuff
There’s nothing like a KAL to kick me in the butt and make me do something right. My Fable-along with Silverknits is turning out to be just like the others, motivating me to do something I wouldn’t have done on my own. I did say in a previous post that I needed to work on my finishing technique, so here’s the opportunity. Did you see how beautifully Silvia’s ribbon shell turned out? Mine is nothing like hers. Well, for one thing, mine is not done and hers is. That’s a huge difference. Another thing, mine looks like crap; hers doesn’t.

Nothing like putting a little pressure on me. I really want mine to look nice. It doesn’t have to be great, like Silvia’s, but I would settle for nice. I think it’s going to be a bit big, maybe okay to wear over a cotton button shirt, but I still need some extra help here. So, I took it to Patty the knitting guru, and she told me what I needed to hear. And I was glad to hear it, because she gave me some renewed energy and focus to finish this thing. I so want it to be right. I will frog the borders on the neck and arm holes, and mattress stitch the dang thing together before doing the borders. Question is… before or after I finish Wicked? Decisions, decisions, decisions.

Yarn Stuff
I tackled Unwind’s SuperBowl Sale on Sunday, and boy oh boy, did it knock me out (bad puns intended). I got there shortly after it began, meeting up with KnitDevil and Sknitty. Although you can’t tell from the pictures below, I experienced a bit of yarn stash ennui at the sale, maybe because I had my heart set on some Muench Touch Me for the Vintage Velvet Scarf in Scarf Style in a rich burgundy. (See pictures of Marie’s beautiful purple version here.) Unfortunately, they didn’t have any colors I wanted, so I passed. Maybe I was a bit restless because I didn’t have any specific projects in mind for this yarn. I was able to overcome my apathy with some herculean efforts, and made some purchases. All for my readers. (Did that sound convincing?)

After waiting in line to get into the backroom where the big sales (50%!) were, we found some treasures. I picked up some Terra, Rowan Summer Tweed, and Louet Gems Pearl all at fabulous prices. There were some balls of Karabella Breeze (cashmere and silk) that I must have picked up and put back four times. Ai-yaaaa! The color was a straw color that has no business being anywhere near my face. Unfortunately, I couldn’t think of anybody else it would do for, so it didn’t come home with me. KnitDad got into the back room before I did and scored some in pale green that was gone when I made it back there. I’m a bit green with envy, but happy he got something good. I also picked up some Elsebeth Lavold Silky Tweed and Artyarns Supermerino. I love the Supermerino colorway because it reminds me of Yarn Pirate’s Neapolitan colorway which I covet. Unfortunately, there wasn’t enough to make another Wicked so I’ll have to think of a project for it.


(clockwise from top left) Rowan Summer Tweed, Terra, Artyarns Supermerino, Elsebeth Lavold Silky Tweed


Louet Gems Pearl

Yarn Carrying Stuff
Ever since I saw some beautiful oilcloth bags in a boutique window, I’ve been coveting them for my knitting. Brightly colored and a bit whimsical, they’re my kinda bag. However, the boutique price was a bit steep for me, so eBay shopping I went. I found these at Taylor’s Markets on eBay; the price was right and saved me a drive to Olvera Street. I love them and have been happily carrying them around. I guess this means that I’m happy Punxsutawney Phil didn’t see his shadow and Spring is coming earlier this year.

2 responses to “

  1. Sorry to hear about having to redo Fable. But you’re right, better to do it right than be unhappy and not wear it.

    And are you sure you aren’t running a fever? That ennui of yours has me a litte concerned…. Sunday was fun, and you scored some great stuff!

  2. Oh, I’m sorry- those picked up stitches were definitely the rough part of that pattern. I had to start over a couple of times to make sure they’d be evenly spaced, not pucker etc, etc. You are too kind about my top, though- I just make sure I look at it with my eyes a bit squinty… It’s going to be fabulous, though- the color alone makes it worth finishing.

    Great yarn acquisitions. I can’t wait to get my supermerino. Let me know how you like it!

Leave a Reply

