6 Weird Things

My Secret Pal Michelle tagged me for this meme, and I have to admit, I’m a meme virgin. I hop on the bandwagon for many things, but this one ain’t one of ’em. Anway, I’ve had a hard time racking my brain out for weird things about me. Let me qualify that. Weird things that you *don’t* know about me. There. That makes it even harder. So this is what I came up with:

1. On my resume, I list my undergraduate degree as Liberal Arts or Classics. The diploma actually says Latin. Huh. There’s a reason it’s dead. I can barely remember any of it. That’s why I like to read The Panopticon so much. He’s doing his best to resurrect the language.

2. I’m allergic to practically everything environmental. Trees. Bushes. Shrubs. Grasses. Dust. Mites. Animal dander. Mold. No food allergies, or at least that I know of yet. When I wear scarves or necklaces, I get eczema patches, but that still doesn’t deter me. I’m way too vain. And I keep hoping that I will knit a new fiber, wool, cotton, alpaca, organic whatever, that will keep my neck itch free.

3. I didn’t learn to swim until the 6th grade. Being immigrants to the US, neither of my parents learned to swim, so it wasn’t anything we ever did. However, trying to grow up “normal” like other kids in the US was really hard, if you didn’t know how. So at the age of 11, I called places out of the phone book to find out how much it cost, and my brother and I told our parents we were taking lessons. We paid for it out of our savings account. I suck as a swimmer, but at least I won’t drown… or at least not right away.

4. I won 3rd place in the city spelling bell when I was in 8th grade. I lost on the word “adamant.” I will never forget how to spell that word. My best friend won 2nd place. She missed “sedentary,” which, of course, I knew how to spell.

5. I started kindergarten when I was 4 years old. I have a late birthday, November. I moved away and started college when I was 16 years old, because I graduated high school a year early.

6. In 8th grade, I could kind of do a back handspring. After I sprained my wrist, my mom made me give up gymnastics. To this day, I still wish I could do one.

Finito. No one specifically is tagged, but if you want to play along, go right ahead.

6 responses to “

  1. Wow, I’m impressed you’ve dodged the meme bullet this long…feel any different now? 🙂

  2. Guess what? I started kindergarten at 4, also, and graduated from HS at 16. And I didn’t learn to swim till I was over 30. See, we have a lot more in common than the same first name (well, okay, variations thereof)!

  3. that is such a major bummer about the eczema!! My son has it and only a few things are helping (and he hasn’t outgrown it unfortunately). Does this mean I’ll never knit him scarves? Hmmm.

  4. Ok, I graduated a year early too and started college at 16. Is that just weird that there are three of us in the same group!

  5. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH!

    Your parcel just arrived in the mail! I think I love you, oh (not so) Secret (anymore) Pal of mine! Thank you so much for three great months of spoilage. I couldn’t imagine a better pal. Day-um, do I have a lot of socks to knit now!

    I’m now off to blog ecstatically about everything you sent me. Once again- thankyou, thankyou, thankyou!

    Michelle

  6. Wow, #6 is very similar to the end of my gymnastics career. While attempting a back handspring, the woman spotting me dropped me and I fractured my arm.

Leave a Reply

