A Couple of Nice Surprises

Okay, so maybe nice isn’t the right word. Today has been an exhausting day, one in which I worked four hours on my feet at the LYS, and then went home to take my Mom on her errands. Hurray. When I sat down to read my blogs this evening, I got a couple of nice… make that great… surprises.

The first is my downline Secret Pal finally got her reveal package from me. I’ve been waiting for over a week to hear from her, and finally did this evening. She’s Aussie Michelle of The Knitting Muso, and I’ve had a blast spoiling her with knitting stuffs. She’s an accomplished pianist and instructor, and a knitting machine. I hope you enjoy reading about her knitting and not-so-knitting adventures, as I have these past few months.

The second nice surprise is hearing from my fellow Knitty Gritty Knitster Carolyn. She has committed to keeping her blogging going, so head on over to JollyEwe to read about her really great knits. Hopefully, we’ll be able to meet up at Stitches West for some reunion knitting on a sofa. Anybody else interested in meeting up?

The other really great surprise came from Chrissy, the Knittin’ Mom, who is the hostess of the Sock-a-month kals. I won a prize package for SAM 2, enough yarn for 6 more pairs of socks. Woo hoo! I joined SAM 2 to motivate me to keep knitting socks, and I knit at least 1 pair for each of the 6 months. I think my total was 8 pairs at the end of the kal. If this ain’t the best incentive to sign up for SAM 3, I don’t know what is. I’ve already convinced sknitty, annette, and seattle marie to join in on the fun for SAM 3. Won’t you join us?

8 responses to “

  1. Inspired by you – I’ve joined SAM3. I’ve also just finished my February socks!

    Well done on 8 pairs of socks for last round!

  2. Thanks for the SAM3 reminder! I just made it official. Maybe this will give me the kick in the pants I need to knit socks! It is one of my goals for ’07 afterall. Congrats on winning the prize for SAM2!

  3. Congrats on winning the SAM2 prize!

    So, what goodies did you get?

    And good luck on SAM3….

  4. Very cool – I didn’t know you were a Knitty Gritty knitster! I have just discovered the reruns of that show – which episode(s) were you on?

    Congrats on the SAM2 prize!

  5. (Covering my ears) I can’t hear you! No SAM3 for me–I am a Sock Free Zone! Sock yarn = scarf yarn, shawl yarn, mitten yarn, petting and fondling yarn. Well, unless I give in and try some entrelac ankle socks in that Yankees Cabin Cove…

  6. Thanks for such lovely comments! I’m not sure that ‘knitting machine’ is entirely deserved, though… I’m really not that fast.

    By the way, it’s all I can do not to fling your sock yarn onto my bed and roll around in it. Just sayin’.

  7. would love to do a meet up at Stitches! I’ll be there Thurs and Sat so email me and I’ll send you my cell# – julsweiatyahoo

  8. I’m interested in meeting up at Stitches. I’ll be there Thurs eve through Sunday as well. We’ve met once at Wed am knitting group.
    Thanks Shar

Leave a Reply

