Detour

I took a detour from Wicked to show you this array of miscellany. First of all, in honor of Project Spectrum’s color du jour blue for February and March, I offer you this.

That’s one of the hats I was asked to make. Sweetie Kids’ piano teacher asked me to knit up a few caps for a former student who is experiencing some medical challenges right now. After I calmed my giddy self down, we chose three basic styles and three different yarns from my stash. This is what ensued:

(L to R) Sweetie Girl is wearing the 4×4 rib beanie made with Blue Sky Organic Cotton in bone. Piano Teacher’s Sweetie Girl is wearing the Santa Cruz cap made from some malabrigo-like yarn. I really enjoyed this new pattern from Magknits, so much so that I had to cast on another one right away! Piano Teacher’s Sweetie Girl is also modeling a basic beanie with a 2×2 rib at the brim made from Noro Kureyon color #150. They’ve been washed and are drying. Then they’ll be ready to go! It was such a pleasure to knit caps for someone you know (or someone they know) who really needs them. Great yarn, great patterns, quick knits, good cause… as a knitter, I couldn’t ask for more.

At the lys, we’re having a Malabrigo sale. Simply put, I love this yarn. So much so that I set aside four more hanks of different colors. However, I figured I should actually knit something with it before adding to my already copious stash, so I wound it up. See how quickly the yarn cake sidled up to the new Piddleloops project bag!

Not a close enough picture of the yarn? How’s this?

Lastly, here’s the sock pr0n picture of the prize pack I won from Chrissy’s SAM2 kal.


(L to R, top) KnitPicks Sock Memories, Simple Stripes, Sock Garden; (bottom) Sweet Socks from the sweet sheep, Koigu KPPPM, and Chewy Spaghetti

Thanks, Chrissy! I am a truly lucky gal!

7 responses to “

  1. With all that new sock yarn in your stash, you best be knittin’ some socks!

  2. Cute hats! That Noro colorway is perfect for PS.

    See you at Stitches!

  3. Those hats look like fun! I had overlooked that hat from MagKnits and now I’m wondering how I could have missed it! What is your local yarn store? I love Malabrigo but we don’t sell it here and we are on our way to LA in less than 2 weeks! We are staying in the area that is near the Getty Center. Any yarn shops near there??? Thanks!

  4. Cute hats!! And that’s some serious stash, girlie. Lucky you!

  5. Your a lucky little knitter with all that yummy sock yarn winnings!! You are so right about the Malabrigo. I recently found a LYS about 40 miles away that carries it…I make the trip regularly.

  6. The hats looks great! The blue is gorgeous.

  7. Great caps! Look at all your new sock yarn! Keeps the addiction alive, doesn’t it? 😉 See ya in a couple of days in Santa Clara!

Leave a Reply

