Finally Wicked!

Here she is in all her glory. No, not me. I’m talking about the sweater. The Sweater. Wicked. I ran out of yarn and was getting distracted with the idea of a new project, so I didn’t make the kangaroo pocket. I really like this sweater and will definitely wear it when the weather cools down. Too bad temps in the LA area have been in the ’90s lately.

Project: Wicked
Yarn: Colorado Yarns Durango in a burgundy color (I can’t remember the color number and the label is somewhere I’m not.)
Needles: KnitPicks Options US Size 5
Start: Feb 5
Finish: March 12

Thoughts: This sweater is so comfortable. I know when temperatures drop, I’ll be reaching for this sweater time and time again. It felt like miles of stockinette but I adore making top-down raglans, especially with worsted weight yarn. I’ll tell you a secret. I didn’t swatch (gasp!); are you shocked? And since I committed such a knitting sin, I got smacked by the Knitting Goddess. My initial thoughts were that I always knit loose, so I’ll go down the customary 2 needle sizes. Since it’s a boatneck, it should fit around my big head (which it did! whew!). After several inches of knitting stockinette in the round, I got curious and checked my gauge. My gauge was a bit smaller than the pattern called for, so I did the maths, and ended up following the numbers for the next size up. I didn’t worry about it, because I knew I could just knit the increases until it fit comfortably around my chest and arms before setting aside the sleeve stitches. I could have started the waist shaping decreases a little earlier than the 3″ called for in the pattern, but it turned out fine. Because of my smaller gauge, I actually ran out of yarn after 6 balls. Marie came to the rescue with the 7th ball and I ended up using about half of it. Would I make it again? Absolutely! In fact, I already have the yarn for it. Thanks to Jillian for snapping the pics.

14 responses to “

  1. It looks great Mary!!

  2. Looks great! I may have to add that one to my (ever growing) list of projects to knit.

  3. Lady Misty Morn

    Beautiful job Mary!

  4. It looks great, and fits you fabulously. Maybe I’ll have to check out that pattern–but first, my Durango is calling me to swatch for the CPH. Joined the KAL today, so I gotta do it, right?

  5. Your Wicked is *so* beautiful – and you look fantastic in it! To be honest, I like your version without the kangaroo pocket much better, this way it really has the perfect fit as I see it! Congrats on a really great accomplishment, Mary!

  6. Fabulous job! Very flattering too. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to do the bottom in the seed stitch or not, but I really like how yours looks, so I’ll stick with it. Great inspiration for me to finish!

  7. LOVE Wicked!! You did a great job. That burgandy color is awesome. I obtained yarn for this sweater at Stitches and promised myself to finish something before casting on, but now that I see yours, I’m not sure I can contain myself.

  8. Your Wicked is fantabulous! Perfect fit! Perfect shaping! Perfect everything!

  9. The neckline is so glamorous! Love the color too! Nice work.

  10. Looks great on you, Mary! The burgundy color is especially flattering with your dark hair.

  11. I love it! And it looks awesome on you!

  12. It looks gorgeous. Congratulations!

  13. This is your official invitation to add your photo to our Wicked KAL flickr group!

  14. It looks great! I think I found a yarn to start mine, I just have to do another swatch. And then I can have 3 sweaters-in-progress instead of 2….

    Hmm.

    Great yarn choice though – and the fit’s really nice!

Leave a Reply

