The Beginnings of CPH
I am about 8″ into it and have 6″ more before I start the underarm shaping. My right cable looks a bit wonky, but I have checked and double-checked that it’s turned corrrectly. It may be the Black Water Abbey, since it’s a bit rough and grippy. Hopefully it’ll block out fine. I’m on a bit of a break from this right now, until I can finish my March sock for SAM 3. Just my luck; I’ll spend all of March working on one pair of socks on size 1 needles. Now I remember why I like making footies on worsted weight yarn. Here’s a close up picture of the double cable running up the back. I like this picture because I think it shows the texture of the yarn and cables really well. Madge and Marie are also making CPHs and are way farther along than I. Be sure to check theirs out.
Tricky Tricot blogged about this tremendous yarn sale at Knit Happens Online. Like a fool, I had to go and check it out. Hours later, I have purchased waaaaay too much yarn, but who can resist deals like Cascade 220 for $3 a skein (especially when the Fitted Knits book features some rockin’ sweaters made from this yarn?), Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Chunky for $3 a ball, Debbie Bliss Alpaca Silk for less than $4 a ball, Koigu KPPPM for $4.50 a skein. Oops, did I just tell you everything I purchased? Well, I might be holding out on a couple of yarns, but it’s definitely worth checking it out.
Wait! Before you click on their site, I have to give you some navigational advice. Be sure to click on the second Yarn button on the left hand bar. Then, you can select how you want to have the yarn presented to you by brand, weight, or gauge. Then you’ll see all of the yarns. If you just click on the What’s New Yarn, you’ll only see a couple of yarns. It’s kind of hard to navigate this site, but I know you can do it. I also know you can give me a run for my money when it comes to buying yarn. Be sure to let me know what you got!
8 responses to “

  1. Thanks for the heads up on the Knit Happens sale. I managed to snag 10 balls of Rowan’s Felted Tweed in Herb.

    You’re making great headway on your CPH! And good luck finishing your second Hedera for SAM3 – my toes are crossed for ya.

  2. Thanks to you, I’m now $100 poorer. But I’ll soon be so much richer in yarn!

  3. Wow you don’t play fair with all that yarn sale-iness. I’m definitely fighting the purchase urge!

    And the CPH is looking great! I LOVE that purple color. I can’t figure out why the right cable looks funky either. Maybe you were knitting tighter there? Hopefully it will all block out.

  4. You are an enabler… I fought the urge to buy though (but man, there are some good deals). I only allow myself one package on the way at a time, and there’s one on the way.
    CPh is looking good- obviously faster than the socks on size 1’s (which is also my alternate project). Go back to the CPH often!

  5. Woah, what a deal, what a sale! Who could resist?
    You’re doing such great progress on your hoodie, it’s going to look absolutely awesome, especially in this colourway and with this yummy yarn! Looking forward to seeing more of it!

  6. OK, Miss Enabler, I scored 7 skeins of Cashsoft to make CeCe and some Addi Natura needles, size 2. Restraint was easy, because they were almost sold out of everything! Thanks for the heads up, though!!

  7. Now I know who beat me to the Supermerino. But it’s okay, since you found the sale and told me about it! ET (my Evil Twin) had herself a ball. There’s just no holding that girl when she gets a whiff of yarn. I may have to get a clothespin for her nose, and take away her internet access!

  8. Thanks for the heads up….what a great site. I missed out on the koigu KPPM, but did pick up a sweaters quanitiy of Debbie bliss alpaca silk in a lovely pink and a couple of balls of rowan wool cotton to try for washclothes. Naturally I signed up for updates so I can get in and fight with the other yarn hungry sharks….I mean knitters.

Leave a Reply

