I Love Food, aka Hawaii Part 3

Anybody, who knows me even just a little bit, knows that I love food… as much as, if not more than, yarn. I know; it’s hard to believe but true. I felt compelled to chronicle our vacation through food pictures, a la LA is My Beat Ellen. So enjoy the food!

Shave Ice
The Sweeties made a family goal of having Hawaiian Shave Ice everyday. We came close to the goal, but didn’t actually succeed. Who knew that shave ice shops close at 7p, even on a Saturday night? Our favorite shave ice shop was Waiola’s by a long shot. There are two locations in Honolulu, and both were stellar.

We also tried the well-known Matsumotos in Waimea and Island Snow in Kailua, but neither lived up to the fine texture of Waiola’s.

Sweetie Hubby enjoyed pineapple, grape and rainbow flavors; Sweetie Boy was a happy with his bubble gum and cotton candy duo every day; while Sweetie Girl mixed it up with watermelon, cotton candy, mango and snahzberry (vanilla, raspberry and strawberry, I think). As for me, I enjoy the tropical flavors of coconut, mango, pineapple, and lychee with add-ins of sweetened condensed milk, ice cream, red azuki beans or mochi. Everyday there was a new shave ice challenge for me to conquer, and conquer, I did.

Malasadas
Ahhhhh, malasadas. How I miss them, the little portuguese donuts freshly fried and coated in sugar, filled with custard. Having a malasada after a shave ice will give you a major sugar buzz with an ensuing huge sugar hangover. Ask me how I know. Leonard’s bakery in Honolulu is THE place for these. Accept no others. These were so good, we *had* to go twice. What do these beauts look like?


Here is the Sweetie family just after our first malasada experience.

Giovanni’s Shrimp
We journeyed to the North Shore, not in search of the perfect wave, but for the legendary shrimp scampi. Giovanni’s is a local and tourist favorite. Is it the wonderful ambience? Not exactly. Giovanni’s serves wonderful, heavenly, garlicky, greasy shrimp out of a graffitied truck and you have the option of enjoying it on the wooden benches under their roughly constructed canopies. The quest for the shrimp truck was a fun part of the experience, but the shrimp is definitely the star. I think I oozed garlic for a few days afterwards.

A final huge thanks to my wonderful friends, Jo and Chris, who were the bestest friends and hosts anyone could ask for. They graciously opened up their home to us (a noisy lot), fed us (even the picky little eaters), drove us around their beautiful island, took us to the most delicious of restaurants and kept smiling the whole entire time. I owe them big time. Mahalo my friends! You guys are the best!

BTW, Vicki Howell just posted on her blog that Cat Bordhi’s episode of Knitty Gritty is airing tomorrow. That’s the episode when I was a knitster. Check out Jolly Ewe and me on the couch.

9 responses to “

  1. Yum! Those donuts look delish. Not to mention the shaved ice. Looks like the family had a great time. Thanks for sharing your pics. 🙂

    I can’t wait to see you on Knitty Gritty!

  2. Eating your way around Hawaii sounds like a ball. My kind of trip. And with friends to boot…
    Have you started the CPH? I think I’m going to jump on that bandwagon- I just realized my Debbie Bliss Aran Tweed will work for it. I may have to make something sleeveless first, but I’ll haunt your progress! BTW, is the sweetie hubbie a Red Sox fan?

  3. Looks like a GREAT time! I am half Portuguese, but am not familiar with much of the food as we didn’t live near my maternal grandmother. The only thing I remember is linguica (yummy sausage.) Those donuts look yummy!!

    I can’t wait to see you on Knitty Gritty!

  4. Wow! That looks fun and delish!!

  5. Malasadas! Double Yum!! I’ve never heard of them before. They sound even better than Beard Papa creampuffs! We must find a place in or near L.A. where we can have them!!!

    Thanks for the Hawaiian food tour….LOVE IT!

  6. So much fun touring the culinary haunts with you and the Sweeties.

    Can’t wait to see you and Carolyn on Knitty Gritty! Yay!

  7. Yummy! My stomach’s howling out loud now! 😉

  8. You had food guides…..no fair!! Hubby and I wondered around with our mouths open looking at all there was to eat, do , see, smell, etc….It was tough to make a decision. Now I gotta go back to get some of those donuts.

    Have you watched our knitty gritty episode yet? Just poured myself a cup of coffee and I’m getting ready to do the pre-viewing before I let anyone else watch it.

  9. I think I missed your episode on Tivo – I thought I got one each day this week but I don’t have it yet. Is it today?

Leave a Reply

