Coriolis Sock

I’m slow on the uptake, because it took me a day or so to realize that I could *finally* post pictures of the Coriolis Sock by Cat Bordhi from the Knitty Gritty episode. I finished them in January but had to wait until the pattern was released before I could show the pictures. (Thanks for helping me remember, Annie!)

The socks were knit double-stranded using Austermann Step. We were given 2 balls to make them, and I have plenty of yarn leftover. I just weighed the leftovers, and it looks like I used one entire ball and 1/4 of a second ball to knit up a pair of man’s socks. You can see from the picture how high up they go. If you knitted a woman’s size, I’m sure you’d have enough in one ball of yarn to finish them. Besides, they’re knit toe-up, so if you run out, the leg portion will just be a tad shorter than you might want.

They wash up super soft, and have made a great pair of house socks. Sweetie Hubby loves them because they keep his tootsies warm, and I am ever so pleased when I see him wearing them.

9 responses to “

  1. Your Knitty Gritty socks turned out awesome!

    Love the way they spiral. And how Sweetie Husband wears them.

  2. Love the green…..my fav color. Talk about slow on the uptake, I didn’t even think about posting about these socks until reading your post……the gag order has been lifted….horray!! Initially I didn’t think I would knit this pattern again, but after watching our KG episode, I think I understand it more and am tossing around the idea of doing them again.

  3. Thanks for the pics!

  4. Lady Misty Morn

    I love the way those turned out :). I actually saw the episode last night thanks to the miracle of TIVO, you looked great BTW. I didn’t even connect the socks you said you couldn’t share with the show until I saw this post LOL, I guess I’m a little slow on the uptake too.

  5. Darn, I wish I had known when the episode was on so I could get D3 to Tivo it for me! Ah well. The socks look great and kudos to you for finishing them!

  6. Wow, these socks look fantastic! What an awesome colourway, and the pattern seems to be just the perfect one!

  7. I wish I could have seen that Knitty Gritty episode (or any Knitty Gritty episode, for that matter). The socks look great!

  8. I wish we got Knitty Gritty in the UK. Your socks look great – quite interesting in construction. Lovely colour!

  9. Great socks! I like the look of the spiral. Did you enjoy the pattern vs. other patterns you’ve used? I really enjoyed watching that episode. You looked great!

Leave a Reply

