Demon Socks

(Ignore the view into my bathroom, okay?) Here are April’s socks for SAM3. I finished them yesterday evening but didn’t get around to posting until this evening. Why break tradition, right?
Project: Toe-Up Socks with Short Row Heels
Yarn: Sweet Georgia Speed Demon Sock Yarn in Elf colorway
Needles: KnitPicks Options in US size 4s for the toes and heels, Addi Turbos 12″ circular in size 3s for the foot and leg, and Addi Turbos and KnitPicks Classic Circulars in 24″ size 1s for the cuff. I was trying different needles and techniques to see what worked best for this yarn.
Start: April 22
Finish: April 29
Thoughts: So much to say; where do I start? Yarn first. I loved this yarn. It had a tendency to be a little bit splitty, but that was minor compared to the beautiful colors. Even though there was a lot of pooling, I just loved these colors so much! The yarn was a giftie from KnitDevil a while back and I was so glad to finally have a chance to knit them up. They knit up speedy quick, just like their name, and I was glad. Thanks, Madge!
As for the technique, I’m a bit disappointed in my ability to do these short row heels. They’re Priscilla Gibson-Robert’s Priscilla’s Dream Socks pattern. I can do them fine, and to avoid the heel/instep coming out too tight, I just knit the heels using bigger needles. However, I got big gaping holes at the join when it was time to knit in the round again, even after I pick up a stitch between the two. I had to stitch them up closed, and while that’s not difficult to do, I have to say I’m a bit of a perfectionist and would really like something to the socks to come out nicely without little bits of stitchin’ here and there. I think it’s time to try some new short row heels… maybe from Cat Bordhi’s Socks Soar on 2 Needles, Charlene Schurch’s Sensational Knitted Socks, Interweave Knit’s Favorite Socks (I just got this book for free from my online book club! Whee!), or Wendy’s generic toe up pattern. I’ll begin experimenting next month. Oh wait, that’s tomorrow.
The story of the needles. Sigh. Not a very exciting story. A melodrama for certain. I’ve been trying out different needles and techniques for sock knitting because the fiddliness of 2 circs and dpns wears on me. Margie of Knit Happens in Half Moon Bay suggested her method, using Addi 12″ circulars and going round and round. Sounded like a great idea, so of course, I had to invest immediately in those for sizes 1, 2 and 3. It happened to coincide with a sale at my LYS, okay? I got a great deal so I might as well just get them, right? I have to say I’m not completely in love with the Addi 12″ circulars, but they’re pretty darn good. The needles are a bit short, so you have some limited movement, but by the time the annoyance hits me, I’ve already zoomed past a couple of rounds already. I’ll definitely try these needles out more and hopefully on smaller needles too.
Why did I bind off on size 1s, you ask? I cast on too many stitches, so the socks were a bit loose. They’re no longer just my house socks, but now they’re my baggy house socks. I got my gauge from my little swatch, a la Wendy style. Knit 12 stitches and stockinette until you have about an inch or two. Really scientific, huh? I decided it was easy enough for me. My gauge was fine, but the problem was I didn’t (and probably still don’t) know how much negative ease to factor in. So I calculated fine but my targeted number of inches was off. Okay, for the next pair of socks, I’ve got to figure out the “rule” for negative ease. Le slouchy socks needed a bit of help to stay up, so I went down 2 needle sizes for the cuff. I also used Wendy’s method for a stretchy bind off which was really easy and it worked too! Enough about socks now.
I’ve returned to Argosy and have just a few more repeats before binding off. TC Marie was a lifesaver today, when I showed up at group without any needles on the cable. I borrowed the needle tips from Argosy to work on the Demon Socks, and forgot to put them back on last night. So when I grabbed the old Argosy bag and ran out the door, I found out I was SOL at the coffee shop today. Luckily, Felix the Cat Marie reached into her bag of tricks and pulled out some Bryspun circs in size 4s. Hurray, because I’ve been wanting to try them out. But more about that, perhaps, another day. Thanks, Marie!
ETA: See an even better picture of the Demon Socks on Mac, the cutest little model ever!
9 responses to “Demon Socks

  1. You’re welcome! My Bryspuns are happy to contribute to the lusciousness of your Argosy. I hope its hempen goodness will seep into them and help them behave on the next project! Cool socks, and I did post a pic of Mac modeling them today!

  2. oooh, I see I have a lot to live up to…

    And we have a lot in common (—>points at your sidebar).

    Consider yourself blogstalked from now on….

    Your Sockapalooza pal

  3. Great Socks! You’ll be my sock resource from here on out- you’ve done all the field research! My last two pairs have had some ugly holes at the top sides of the heel flaps. I’ve gotta improve, b/c I think my sock pal actually teaches sock knitting classes- ugh. Out of my league…

  4. Lady Misty Morn

    beautiful, I just lurve those colors! see I knew you would finish them in April with time to spare.

  5. I used to use the PGR short row heel method also and was a wee bit frustrated by the same thing but did not know any better since that was the sock pattern i learned on. This year I decided to try something different and did Wendy’s generic toe up pattern. I loved it. No gaps. The correct amount of negativeS ease. Essentially a perfect fit on my feet.

  6. I’m impressed with your sock knitting speed! Misocrafty has a SR tutorial to prevent holes
    and I used Mim’s heel on my knee socks and have been really pleased with it.

  7. Trippy. Sox. Cool.

    (I’m channeling my inner minimalist for blog comments today.)

  8. I love those socks…that colorway is awesome!! I am steaming that I didn’t get any Sweet Georgia and now she seems to be gone…..hopefully not forever. I am intriqued about the 12″ circ thing…..think I will investigate that some more.

  9. Dipsy Doodle

    Awww, I adore these socks! The colorway must be one of the coolest I’ve seen for long, and the pooling is perfectly unique and extravagant – great, absolutely!

Leave a Reply

