Swatching for Mystery Stole 3

I received my Jaggerspun Zephyr Vanilla yarn from Sarah’s Yarns in the mail late last week. This is the yarn Melanie suggests for the Mystery Stole 3. I ordered it last Sunday and amazingly, I received the email that said she shipped it that afternoon. Great service!

After obsessing over which yarn to use for this project, I decided I really wanted some silk in it, thus I decided on Zephyr. Melanie also suggested either white, black or shades thereof for the stole and Vanilla is what I went with. The first picture is during blocking, and the second is post-blocking. You can see my lace amateur skills at work on the first repeat and a bit on the second repeat, but I’m happy with how the third repeat looks. I’m a lace beginner, so this hopefully this kal will help me improve my lace skills.

I swatched using the Bryspun size 4s I recently purchased at the BSK sale for $2. In keeping with my reputation as the needle dancer, I was not happy with them. The plastic was too grippy, so for the actual stole, I’ll be using my KnitPicks Options in size 4. Hopefully, that will make it easier for me to run a lifeline. Now, all I need to do is decide whether to bead or not and for the kal to actually start!

BTW, CPH is done, done, and done. Really. Truly. Buttons are sewn on. And I’m excited and relieved. I’m going to wait for a slight dip in the weather before attempting a photo shoot. Stay tuned!

10 responses to “Swatching for Mystery Stole 3

  1. Your lace knitting looks just fine. Once the piece is blocked it will be wonderful. I’d skip the beads for this one. The yarn looks very lightweight. The beads might weigh it down too much. Try a swatch that you can frog with beads and see what happens.

  2. I’m drooling over your pretty lace!

    And I can’t wait to see your finished CPH! Congrats!

  3. to go cheap for the Mystery Stole with some Skakel merino–$11.50 at my LYS, beads from stash. I tried to swatch the other night but wasn’t in the right mindset. Maybe later this week.

    Can’t wait to see your CPH!!

  4. Ooh! I’m looking forward to seeing how this lace is gonna turn out.

    As for the CPH- don’t be a wimp! Jam that thing on and take photos in the scorching temperatures! I dare ya.

  5. I am so impressed with your lace skills, you’re a natural!! I love the options needles for lace, nice and slippery. Glad to hear you have succumb to the lifeline, you will not regret it. I am so excited to see this Mystery stole develop. Thanks for being the guinea pig.

  6. Your swatch looks great! I’m so excited a bunch of us are doing our own mini-KAL together…your swatch has me motivated to do mine. Finally dug my black Zephyr out of stash today; now to find my needles and get busy.

    Congrats again on CPH. And guess what? I finished a socklet today. Yeehaw.

  7. I think it looks great. How about the Addi lace needles? I really like them. I’m waiting for my yarn to arrive.

  8. Your lace looks great! I think the Options needles are a good choice for lace. They’re slippery in a good way and the tips are pointy enough for k2tog and ssk, etc.

    Your CPH is done! Yahoo! Can’t wait to see it. 🙂

  9. Rubys & Purls

    Your lace swatch looks great! I ordered my yarn from Sarah over the weekend too. It should be here later today, I hope so because I want to get started. Are you using the recommended beads?

    I can’t wait to see your CPH!!

  10. Your lace looks awesome – very beautiful indeed! And congrats on finishing your CPH – I can’t wait to see the modeled shots!

Leave a Reply

