I Am So…

Screwed. As I was ecstatically signing up for MS3, I forgot about another little commitment. Sockapalooza, which I obviously have not even started. I didn’t connect that the two would overlap on the knitting calendar. The Sockapalooza socks should arrive on my Sock Pal’s doorstep at the beginning of August, and MS3 starts next week. Duh. Maybe I can juggle it if I don’t knit socks on tiny size 1 needles. Maybe this is my way of telling myself I don’t like knitting on toothpick sized needles.

So now, I have to find some nice sport weight sock yarn, preferably in purples, that I could knit up with size 2 needles. I was thinking of making Mini Monkeys. Any ideas?

7 responses to “I Am So…

  1. Mini Monkey socks with sport weight yarn would be good. I know what you mean. Since I joined MS3, I now have 3 lace projects going…..what am I thinking??? Take comfort that MS3 has no time limit and doesn’t feel like a race, however, I guess the surprise element will be squashed if we don’t keep up.

  2. The colinette jitterbug that I’m using is great, and works up really nicely (7 st/inch) in a size 2 needle. It’d make a great Jaywalker. You can put together a great pair really quickly- you’re a sock queen!

  3. Monkeys in sport weight would be fun and fast. I have thought about making another pair of Monkeys…I’ve also toyed with eliminating the purl stitches and keeping the whole thing knit stitch, cuz purling slows me down. Turns out someone beat me to the punch! Check out http://fiberjinx.wordpress.com/2007/05/30/blah-dee-blah-dee-blah/

    And here’s some toe up no purling ones!
    http://akaijen.typepad.com/jen_knits/pattern_los_monos_locos_t.html

  4. Lady Misty Morn

    just one suggestion, make your Sockapalooza socks your July SAM sock, and don’t wait until the end of the month to knit it. That way, you’re killing 2 birds with one stone. Just an idea.

  5. Uh oh. You can do it. You knit those sock anklets for your friend in San Jose pretty fast.You work well under pressure. No problem. 🙂

  6. Mini monkeys are cute, but for a really fast knit, you could use the Red Dwarf pattern from turtlegirl’s blog, because they’re knit on #4s with worsted weight yarn. Plus, they have a lace stripe down the front and back, and I know you like doing lace…

  7. You can do it – you’re a sock queen!

    Mini monkeys are cute. I’m a sucker or a picot edge myself.

Leave a Reply

