Monkey Off My Back

Two Mini Monkeys jumping on the bed
Both fell off, “We’re Done!” they said
Mama called the doctor and the doctor said,
“Start workin’ on Mystery Stole instead!”
Project: Monkey socks by Cookie A, the Mini part by January One Cara
Yarn: Cherry Tree Hill Supersock in Spanish Moss colorway, 1 skein
Needles: 2 circs method, KnitPicks Classic Circulars US size 1 in 24” and Addi Turbos US size 1 in 24”
Start: June 22
Finish: July 1
Thoughts: Even though I was grousing about having to make socks, I actually really enjoyed this pattern. And it’s a good thing too, because they’re for my Sockapalooza Pal. I definitely don’t want to send her socks with bad feelings knit into it. I think I finished the second sock in about two days. It took me getting to the second sock before memorizing the stitch pattern, because I’m not the sharpest monkey in the bunch. But once I got it, things literally flew.
I will definitely make a pair of these for myself, but I think I’ll like them better in a semi solid colorway. I have some beautiful apricot orange STR lightweight that would look beautiful, and some shocking orange Koigu that would be killer too. Oh well, good thing I don’t have to worry about yet.
9 responses to “Monkey Off My Back

  1. Now you have two monkeys off you’re back. The socks turned out great. You’re Sockapalooza pal is going to love them. Next up – lace!

  2. You are just a FO parade lately! Your Monkey’s, mini or no, or gorgeous! Did you get that yarn at A Mano on that sale trip a spell back? It’s just that it looks familiar.

  3. Lovely monkeys- the picot edge is great! Lovely poem too. My kiddos approve. Now if only I’d finish my sock pal’s socks!

  4. Wonderful looking Monkeys, your Sockapalooza pal is a lucky person.

  5. Righteous Monkeys. You deserve a banana split for finishing them so quickly.

    Love the picot edging…did I say that already? Well, I do.

    Break out the Zephyr, there’s stoling to be done!

  6. hey, these are quite pretty, and you have one lucky sock pal! And yes, I’m sure they’ll look great in a semi-solid colorway – ever the better to make that monkey pattern pop.

  7. They look great! I have yet to finish my monkey socks, as the first one suffered a bit of a gauge incident (I can get it on, but it’s pretty damn tight).

  8. I love the mini monkeys! I’m a little worried about my sockpal, though–do you think I knit all those cursewords into the socks when I had to rip rows out? I hope not!

  9. Glad you were feeling the Monkey Love! Mystery Stole is cool and I can’t wait to see yours!

Leave a Reply

