Wednesday WIP Report

Even though there hasn’t been much blogging going on, I’m happy to report there has been knitting. I even finished a pair of socks, my second for July.


The Mystery Stole is moving along, albeit slowly. I took about a week off from it, because I’ve been spending a lot of time with my sister and her family. They come out here for several weeks for the summer, and most everything I do either stops completely or moves at a snail’s pace. I’m on row 185 of Chart D, so I know I’m well behind others. That’s okay, because I’m also taking my time and meandering through (or trying to) HP7 at the same time. I know others who raced to finish it, only to suffer from PPD (post Potter depression). I know I’ll be depressed at the end of this monumental series, and I want to savor every last bit right now while I can.


The Drop Stitch Lace Tank has become my social knitting because I’m now working on straight 2×2 rib for the back. I have about 3 1/2″ left before I can move on to the right front. I finished the front left section, after ripping it back to the beginning of the underarm split. I wasn’t happy with the edges, and decided to create a selvedge, easy for picking up stitches, by slipping the first stitch of each row.


I cast on a new project also, not part of my Summer Knitting Goals, although it is a felted bag. It’s Natalie’s Squatty Sidekick and is turning out to be the easy knit, as intended. I had two balls of Valley Yarns Berkshire Bulky in chocolate and light blue to make a felted bag, so it was a perfect fit. Even though the pattern calls for 220 yards of worsted weight using size 8s, unfortunately, I ran out of yarn! I had 220 yards of bulky weight, and the combination of size 15s and my loose gauge did me in. So the project is on ice until I order and receive more yarn from WEBS. This was a mini kal I’m doing with my visiting sister, and guess what? She didn’t run out of yarn. I haven’t checked in on her bag in a few days, so I wonder if she’s done. Sigh… Hopefully, I’ll be able to post a finished picture of hers.

BTW, until July 31 you can get free shipping on any Valley Yarns order of $50 or more from WEBS. I am so easily suckered into these deals that it quickly doesn’t become a deal anymore. Wish me luck in resisting.


Finally, a FO. The Feather and Fan socks were a breeze to finish, it seemed, once I knew they fit my sister. Here are the details:

Project: Wendy’s Feather and Fan Socks
Yarn: Cherry Tree Hill SuperSock Yarn in Monet colorway
Needles: KnitPicks Classic Circs in US size 1 (2.5 mm), 2 circs method for casting on the toes, and then magic loop for the rest of the body (still needle dancing!).
Start: June 2007
Finish: July 2007

Thoughts: I have been enjoying Wendy’s short row heels, and am happy to report that I can join the completed heel with the instep without any resulting holes. I like the feather and fan design; it’s super easy to memorize and shows off the variegation well. I’ve realized the 64 stitches I’ve been using with socks lately are too big for my feet, even though my gauge is on. That means I’ll have to play around either with 2.25mm needles and/or cast on less stitches.

Hope you’re keeping cool in our summer heat. Knit on!

5 responses to “Wednesday WIP Report

  1. I heart your blue and brown Squatty Sidekick; bummer about running out of yarn, though. (Have you placed your Webs order yet? If not, let me know, ‘kay?)

    MS3 is looking great. (I’m still stalled on row 100…but thinking about it again because…*drum roll*…I finished the buttonband on CPH today. Now I just have to seam. *happy dance*)

    And congrats on finishing your pretty feather and fan socks! Yay for no holes!

  2. I second the cheer for no holes! Those piss me off like nothing else.

    And I *love* the Squatty Sidekick! Get some yarn woman!

    Good on you for not racing through HP7. I was in a total fog for about 3 days. Now that I’ve reread the last 5 chapters or so I feel better. But I cried again in all the same places and some new ones too. Damn JK and her tear-ability.

  3. My MS3 is in time out and may soon be hitting the frog pond! I’m not loving the way the merino lace is working up–too loose, or something, and my swatch didn’t bloom enough to make up for it. Besides, it has a fatal blemish. Sigh. I think I’ll look for another yarn… should have something around here that will work!

  4. MS3 is looking good! I have been reading Harry P. so have not started on the latest clue. How do you like the Valley yarns compared to Lamb’s Pride, etc.

  5. Chocolate brown and blue side kick is gonna rock…..LOVE that color combo and can’t wait to see the FO. Strong work with MS and your DST, they both are coming right along. Thanks a ton for the DST advise yesterday.

    Oh, yeah and thanks a lot for the WEBS info……I’m off to see how close to 50 bucks I can get, can’t resist free S&H.

Leave a Reply

