Wednesday WIP Report

This one could be titled Wednesday FO Report instead. However, I’m not quite ready to report on one of the FOs, so it’ll be an FO and a new project.

First up is the FO, my first Amanda’s Squatty Sidekick that stalled because I ran out of yarn. Yarn Crawl Robin had asked if it was my own pattern, and I almost fell out of my chair. I think y’all know that I am not a pattern designer, nor do I strive to be. People, I am so happy to capitalize on other people’s talent. Sorry Robin. I can’t take the credit on the pattern but I did add the link. My apologies for not adding the link last time.

My extra balls of Valley Yarns Berkshire Bulky arrived and I was able to finish it right up. I used up only a squoosh of yarn from each new ball, so now I have more of that yarn for another felted project. Oh wait, maybe I’ll use them to make the mittens that Fresh Noodle Beth has been recommending for me. Here are the details:

Project: Amanda’s Squatty Sidekick by Amanda Berka
Yarn: Valley Yarns Berkshire Bulky, 1 ball plus a squoosh of chocolate brown and 1 ball plus a squoosh of light blue. You could really make it without the extra squoosh of yarn from the second ball. If I was smart enough, I would have figured it out, but oh well. Hopefully, I can just pass that tip along and help out another knitter.
Needles: Addi Turbos US size 15
Start: July sometime 2007
Finish: August 14, 2007

Thoughts: I really like the pattern; so fun and easy to complete. The decreases and increases make it so you have to pay attention, but it’s minimal. On both of my sidekicks, I started my rounds at the wrong place because when it was time to start the handles, I was at the wrong position. No problem though. I just backed up the required number of stitches and I was there.

My sister and I knit this pattern as a test to see if it would be easy enough for a beginning knitter, i.e., my 14 year old niece. She can definitely handle the increases and decreases, but we decided it would be challenging since it would be a TV watching project. I definitely recommend the pattern, but just know that it’s not as easy as a booga bag.

My last bit is about the yarn, Berkshire Bulky. It’s the Valley Yarns knock-off on Lamb’s Pride Bulky. Feels very much the same to me but after washing the bag, there’s a ton of long hairs sticking out of the bag and clinging to my clothes. I just have to give it a good shave and then it’ll be just perfect. Just gotta find a button now.

The Drop Stitch Lace Tank is done after going three rounds with the neck finishing. Thanks to Patty, I was able to get it sorted out. It has been washed and is now lying flat to dry. It feels surprisingly bulky on, so I’ll have to wait for a day when it’s not too hot for a modeled picture.

Have a great week!

8 responses to “Wednesday WIP Report

  1. how do you think the sidekick will hold it’s shape? I’ve been eyeing it for a while know. maybe I’ll make it in Fall colors.

  2. That bag is really cute! I love the colors you chose.

  3. Woo! Purty FOs!

  4. Awesome color combo on the side kick! I have been obsessed by this color combo for sometime now and it looks fab in a felted purse, you’ve got my wheels turning…

    DST looks great too! I know what you mean about the bulkiness of it. I tried to wear mine yesterday……way to hot still.

  5. Cute Sidekick! I love how it felted up. (Though super hairy? Not so much. Thanks for the yarn tip.) The color combo makes me tingly.

    Looking forward to a DSLT modeling when it isn’t 100 bajillion degrees out.

  6. Those Squatty Sidekicks are awfully cute!

  7. Welcome back from vacation. 🙂 Cute bags! I love the colors. Your Drop Stitch Lace Tank came out gorgeous! Hope it cools down soon so that you can wear it!

  8. Love the blue and brown! And hooray for finishing the DSLT! You are just having things FALL right off the needles!

Leave a Reply

