Forgotten Yarn Pron!

As I was taking ravelry pictures of the rest of my stash, (you know the ones in bags and bins under the bed?), I realized I was missing a skein. It’s an important skein, because it’s the skein from Carolyn, The Jolly Ewe, in Neapolitan. And I remembered that I hadn’t blogged about it, so here are the gorgeous pictures of this beautiful yarn. It’s merino tencel sock yarn, and I really love the sheen. I’ll probably make a scarf out of it one day, perhaps the Montego Bay Scarf, but until then, I’m happy to just admire the colors and pet it every once in a while. She has some great stuff, so be sure to check out her etsy shop.

The Funny thing is that Carolyn mentions me in her post today. I had this post already planned out for today too! Co-inky-dink. We must be the mutual admiration society today!

As I mentioned, I was digging through my stash yesterday. The OCD in me was running strong, so I finished taking pictures for my ravelry stash. I think my stash pictures for the most part are up to date. One of the best features I’ve been enjoying is seeing what people have made out of certain yarns. One of the best benefits that has come out of it has been finding other knitters through their kickass projects. Is it a black hole time-suck? Yes. Is it worth it? Completely! Look for me on ravelry; I’m dimsumknitter.

Since I finished a couple of projects recently, I knew it was time to start some new projects! That’s music to my ears. In keeping with my summer knitting goals, I cast on for the Flower Basket Shawl by Evelyn Clark. Unfortunately, the free pattern isn’t available online anymore but can be purchased, I think, through Fiber Trends. Here’s a picture of Madgik’s gorgeous shawl, that I was privileged to model for her. I’m using my Handmaiden Sea Silk and I really love this yarn. It’s got to be one of my all time favorites, so much so that I just ordered another skein through Little Knits in Sangria.

I’ve also been wanting to knit a shrug, so I swatched with Elsebeth Lavold Cotton Patine for the Retro Redux Shrug by Mercedes Tarasovich-Clark. I’m hoping it’s going to be a quick and easy project. Here’s my swatch, done in the largest size needles US 10.5. Do you think it looks too skimpy? I’m a little worried about that.

I also started swatching for Bonne Marie Burns’ Chickami. I was inspired by Sknitty’s and Liquidgirl’s (sorry! can’t find the picture of hers, but trust me! It was super cute.) and it looks like good social knitting. I’m using yarn I bought over a year ago at The Yarn Lady Bag Sale; it’s Valeria di Roma Topacio, a cotton acrylic blend. Even though the ball band gauge says it’s dk weight, I could swear it feels heavier and thicker than the Cotton Patine for the shrug. Logic says I should swap the two yarns, but I’m not ready to give up the colors that I was set on. We’ll see if it ends up in a train wreck. Here’s a dark picture of the beginning of my swatch. It’s really a periwinkle color which was quite hard to capture this morning.
That’s enough for today; have a great weekend!
8 responses to “Forgotten Yarn Pron!

  1. Sheesh! You’re gonna be a busy knitter! LOVE all that gorgeous yarn, especially the Neopolitan!

  2. You know, I don’t think I have a modeled picture of my Chickami. I need to get better at my FO documentation!

  3. So may new projects! You’ll like knitting ChicKami, I think. It is good social knitting and the result is so wearable.

  4. Ooh, there’s your FBS. It’s gonna be GORGEOUS in Sea Silk. After all my pestering, I hope you’re enjoying the pattern.

    Congrats on getting stashed on Ravelry. I still have three bins to go. *ulp*

    Did your YP Booty Club come today? Whatcha think?

    Funny – my word verification for this comment is “zmary.” Z’wonderful!

  5. Loverly stuff! But do you mean to say that you can actually document ALL of your stash that quickly? Either you’re super-fast on the shutter, or your stash is a reasonable size. Anyway, it’s great pictures of terrific looking yarn!

  6. Thanks so much for showing my yarn and giving me the gracious plug!!

    Yummo on that Malbrigo!! that stuff rocks.

    Don’t ya just love the stash feature on Ravelry? I dig seeing what others have made and making plans for my stash is my favorite part.

  7. lovely projects! I have been trying to knit the Montego Bay scarf with my seasilk but have had to frog 4 times. I tried two different types of needles but no luck. That slippery silk is making me nuts! Knitting Betty is doing the retro shrug too–her gauge looks beefier than yours so I guess it depends how lacy you want your shrug to be…

  8. Great yarn! I also just got some Neopolitan yarn, mine from Dyeabolical. It’s so cute; it DOES remind me of ice cream! I can’t wait to see what you make with yours!

Leave a Reply

