Ravelry Swaps

I have done (or almost finished) two swaps through Ravelry, and I have to say how great it was! The first was with Lindsay of SinCityKitty who contacted me about some Noro I had listed as willing to trade or sell. After a bit of emailing back and forth on what we would swap, we agreed that she would make me a needle roll, in exchange for the yarn. I just mentioned that I like bright colors and whimsical patterns and she took it from there. And boy, did she take it from there. Lookee what I got!


Fun prints, great little detail ribbon to tie it all up, fits like a dream. Surprise! I didn’t even know I had that many dpns.


Here she is, all filled up.

I’m in the middle of my second swap with blogless Vanessa (just Vanessa on ravelry, too). I contacted her because I was looking for a couple extra balls of Debbie Bliss Cotton Angora in a pale blue color that has been discontinued for a sweater for Sweetie Girl. She said she was willing to swap and I directed her to look at my stash. Of course, with a trade in mind, I updated my stash and designated more yarn as willing to trade or sell. We agreed on swapping a skein of my Grey Valley Yarns Berkshire for her ball and a half of Cotton Angora. Done deal!

I guess the lesson in all this is, once again, we are reminded of the resources available to us through ravelry, and the openness and kindness of knitters and crocheters, even though strangers, who are willing to respond to a strange in need of something.

If you haven’t done so already, check out your friends’ stash that’s marked as willing to swap/sell. You might find a little gem. You could also check out the ISO/Destash group. Now, if I could only figure out how to find on ravelry a way to see all the yarn that people are willing to trade or sell, not just those in the Destash group…

6 responses to “Ravelry Swaps

  1. What pretty fabric! Love it!

    I sort of fear the Ravelry destashing search (soon to be implemented I’m sure)…just feels like dangerous territory for my wallet.

  2. Wow- I haven’t marked up my stash as swap-able, but I think I should. Cute needle holder- much better than the disasterous drawer I’m using right now.

  3. Very cool! I haven’t looked at the destashing group yet. I think I should. 😉

  4. Another reason why Ravelry rocks: It’s full of cool knitsters!

    Heart that needle roll fabric big time. Great swap.

  5. Hmm – I’m still waiting to get on to Ravelry (number 7 thousand whatever in the queue!) Can’t wait!

    Love the needle roll – great fabric.

  6. That is one sweet needle case! I love the fabric and the colorway.

Leave a Reply

