Wednesday WIP Report

I have a few pictures today, and a lot of old ufo busting. Hurray for clearing out the old stuff!

First up, the wobbly circles tote by Leigh Radford featured in IK Spring 2006. Our knitting group attempted this one and Madge is the only one who finished hers. And it’s a beaut too! Annette has one side of hers done, and now I’m happy to report that I do too. Lookee here:

The idea of fighting the yarn bundle spaghetti to make a second side gives me hives, so I decided to change it up a little. (Meaning: lazy ass knitter is too lazy to do a second identical side.) I decided to stripe the back but decided to do it in a fibonacci sequence. (Google it; it’s cool, really!) There are even random stripe generator sites that are fun to play around with. The hard part was figuring out how to make the stripes the correct numbers. I wanted the fibonacci sequence to start at the bottom and work its way up, while at the same time, start at the top and work its way down. Of course, each row would alternate. That means, if sequence A is working from the bottom up, and sequence B is working from the top down, it would be kind of an ABABAB pattern, but the number of rows each time differs. I know, it sounds complicated, but I promise I’ll show you a picture when it’s done. I even created a crazy chart on excel and colored the rows. Hello, my name is Mary, and I am anal.

I cast on and got quite a bit of the indigo ripples skirt done this Saturday while Harlot-watching. I just love me some knitting stockinette in the round. Of course, it was set aside on Sunday for a newer, shinier project: the Mia sweater from Debbie Bliss’ Junior Knits.

I’m using Cascade 220 in a magenta color that I scored for next to nothing from the Great Knit Happens Online Sale of Spring 2007. I’m at about nine inches right now, and just about to start casting on at the beginning of the rows for the sleeves.

Finally, I finished up the blue koigu wristwarmers I’ve had languishing in the ufo pile for over a year. I finished them at knitting group today, and bound off at Sweetie Girl’s soccer practice this evening. It got chilly enough where I had to put them on right away. Ahhhh, much better. After I have woven in the ends, given it a nice bath, and taken some pics, I’ll post the details.

Have a great week!

P.S. Thanks for the nice comments about my whale stomach. My eye still gets drawn to that tummy area in the picture, and it will probably be like that forever. πŸ™‚

6 responses to “Wednesday WIP Report

  1. Thrilled! That’s how I feel seeing your Wobbly. You’re gonna blaze through the second side and be done in no time.

    Yay for finishing your wristwarmers. Another UFO down for the count. And such a handy one har har.

  2. Is the tote the felted intarsia one? Or am I thinking of a different pattern? Looks good so far!

    Love your Indigo Ripples skirt! I am still trudging through the miles of stockinette, but finished the increases at least. I had adjusted mine to place the increases up higher to account for higher hips, so I really need to put it on waste yarn and try it on to see how it’s working before I proceed.

  3. I’m looking forward to seeing the results of your adventure with Fibonacci stripes. I love the concept, and I try to think about doing that with the stripes I use, but I haven’t been as ‘scientific’ as you, pre-planning with colored Excel spreadsheets!

  4. Wow!!! I love the colors in that tote. Yummy. πŸ™‚

  5. Wobbly is coming along well, I don’t blame you a bit for not wanting to do both side with the intarsia. As a matter of fact, I do believe it will look even better with the strips anyway.
    Indigo ripple looks great, I love that color!

  6. All of those WIPs proves you are not a lazy knitter. πŸ˜‰

    That Mia sweater is super cute! Love the color.

Leave a Reply

