Day of Reckoning

In May, I foolishly followed along with Annette on Summer Knitting Goals. Ali at Skeins Her Way was hosting a contest, and since I am such a sucker for free yarn, I had to join in. Foolishly, I say, because once I say I’m gonna do something, I get kinda crazy about actually doing it. I love that I can get stuff done, but also dislike the pressure I put on myself when I stray from the “list.” I slogged away at these goals through the summer, and here is the reconciliation of my FOs against said goals.

1. Central Park Hoodie – Done! I’m really looking forward for some seriously cool weather so I can start wearing this bad boy.

2. Flower Basket Shawl (Lace shawl) – Done! Midway through summer, I actually thought I would count the Mystery Stole for this. However, my wing was never going to take wing, so FBS it was. I am so glad that I did, because that shawl pattern was a crazy kind of perfect. And that Sea Silk… swoon again.

3. Dropped Stitch Lace Tank from Fitted Knits –Done! Whale stomach or not.

4. Finish two pairs of socks for June and July – Done! My Sockapalooza pal received hers mid August, but that was because I was on vacation and forgot to post it before leaving. I still have yet to receive my Sockapalooza socks. Figures. I’ve been having great luck with my swaps and I knew my string of luck had to end somewhere.

5. Pink fluff a.k.a. Ballet Shrug – Done! Sweetie Girl wore it just this week, although it was over her soccer gear.

6. Wobbly Tote – One side done! That’s the wobbly circle intarsia-yarn-bundles-from-hell side. I’m working away at the stripey back but you knew that already.

All in all, I have to say, not to shabby. I like that it focused me on projects I’ve wanted to make for a while, balanced with a couple of new projects. If I were to set goals for fall (and I’m NOT saying I am), I’d probably toss in the chevron scarf, finishing Ariann, finishing Mia for Sweetie Girl, making a sweater, Woody, for Sweetie Boy, Clapotis, since I’ve joined the Second Wave Clapotis kal, a baby sweater or two as gifts, Juliet, a felted Noni bag and probably a sock or two, like Jaywalkers. Come to think of it, this is already sounding like way too many knitting goals. I think I’ll hold off from more knitting goals for a while… or at least until next Spring.
8 responses to “Day of Reckoning

  1. Wow congrats! That’s way better than my goals in my head! I think putting goals in writing help you reach them, even if you do have to pressure yourself to finish! Great job!

  2. Way to go on achieving your summer knitting goals. Impressive.

    Here’s to a fun filled fall, whatever you decide to knit!

  3. Wow, what a list. Don’t forget our donut project…

  4. NICE JOB!! I’m am very impressed. Oh, and that Flower basket Shawl was TOO DIE FOR!!

  5. Hooray! Very impressive. Another example proving that your are not a lazy knitter. 😉

  6. you did really well with your goals! And I must have missed the Drop Stitch Lace Tank post – what are you talking about, “whale stomach”? I don’t see one anywhere.

  7. they’re coming though… they’re coming! I promise!

  8. Well done on achieving your goals, it’s motivating me to do more!

Leave a Reply

