Wednesday WIP Report

Thanks to everybody who chimed in with encouragement about starting Juliet. Did I take their advice? Nooooooooo. I really wanted to get the baby sweater done, and today I finished it, mostly while at knitting group. Here’s a picture of it blocking and hopefully I’ll be able to find a model for it. I don’t think the giftee has arrived yet, so she may not be available for her.

Now that the baby sweater is complete, can I start Juliet? Still no. I realized that a good friend, who recently decided to move his family to Connecticut, is leaving next week, so what better reason is there to knit a warm alpaca hat? I cast on for the Hot Head hat from Stitch ‘n Bitch, thanks to Madgik’s suggestion, and it’s in its infancy right now. The Hot Head Hat is a simple 2×2 rib watch cap in a chunky yarn. I’m using Berroco Ultra Alpca doubled in the peat colorway, which is a green heather. The plan is to send four more warm caps for the rest of the family at a later time. I just want to get this going-away giftee done.

And then Juliet? Maybe not. I have another friend who recently had a babe, and I’d like to make a hat like this for that little rockin’ dude too. I guess I must be in a hat craze right now. I really do love knitting up hats because there’s nothing like a little instant gratification now and then. Maybe then, I’ll get to Juliet. If nothing else crops up, of course.

The first of the UCLA footies is crawling along. I finished the toe and up the foot. I just need Sweetie Boy to try it on, and then figure out the math for a toe-up gusset heel on 44 stitches. I was going to try Wendy’s sportweight toe-up gusset heel pattern but I’m not crazy about how it looks. I tried to see if I could easily work out the math for Widdershins, since I liked the look of that heel, but the math made my head spin a bit. I don’t do Linda Blair in “The Exorcist” very well at all, so I gave up. Anybody have any other ideas or suggestions?

6 responses to “Wednesday WIP Report

  1. Oohh, thanks for posting the link to the scrap hat. That is a supercute project and a great idea.

    Cute baby sweater too!

  2. Glad to see I’m not the only one on a hat spree. I had big ambitions for starting another sweater, but the quick hats are just too hard to resist. 🙂

    The “You’re Putting Me On” sock pattern has a great chart for figuring out a toe-up gusset heel with a wide range of stitch counts. It’s not my favorite (I hate picking up stitches, so I prefer Mim’s “Better Fitting Toe-up Heel Flap”), but the chart of numbers does all the math for you!

  3. Look at that! Sweater blocked and ready to go. Yay.

    That scrap happy hat is sweet. Thanks for sharing the link.

  4. Too cute baby sweater. I love that hat pattern from SnB, it will be nice and warm in that alpaca.

    LOVE that scrappy happy hat, what a great idea for left overs!!

    I’ll have to think about that heel thing. I have the sensational knitted sock books, they might have an idea in them????

  5. Miss Izzy sent me some more supplies so I’m ready to give the donut another try. I’ll let you know how it goes, unless you want to suffer through another long distance “Stitch ‘n Bitch” with me (you doing the stitching and me doing the bitching probably).

  6. The WIPs are looking good! I love the baby sweater especially.

Leave a Reply

