Hats! Hats! and More Hats!

It was a busy weekend, knitting-speaking, here at Chez Dim Sum. On Thursday, I heard from my friend, moving out of state to Connecticut, that he was leaving a week earlier than planned. Uh, that meant Friday was the last chance I would see him, and his Hot Head wasn’t done yet. So I kicked it into high knitting gear, and finished it that night. Unfortunately, I gifted it to him and my camera phone picture didn’t take. Hopefully, he’ll send me a picture of him modeling it.

I decided to make hats for the rest of the family moving to Connecticut, so made Hot Head II and III in Malabrigo Chunky and some stash Valley Yarns Berkshire Bulky. I’ve just a couple more to make before I send them off.

Project: Hot Head Hat by Alex Zorn from Stitch ‘N Bitch: The Knitter’s Handbook
Yarn: Hat I – Berroco Ultra Alpaca in Peat double-stranded, 1 skein;
Hat II – Malabrigo Chunky in Azul Profundo, 1 skein;
Hat III – Valley Yarns Berkshire Bulky in brown, 1 skein, and a little bit of light blue
Needles: Addi Turbos 16″ US 10.5 circular
Start: October 18 and the days following
Finish: same day or next

Thoughts: I love this pattern, its simplicity, its stretchiness. It was ton of fun knitting this up, but then I always have a blast knitting up caps. If you need a quick cold-weather gift, this is the one! The Malabrigo Chunky was a dream to knit up, but the best part was how the semi-solid colorway played out. No stripey, not pooled, just perfect. Here’s a close up of the melange of colors.

I needed another baby gift, so after the Hot Heads were done, I cast on for the scrap cap celebration hat. It was so much fun digging through my scrap stash, looking for the right yarn, and this is what I came up with.

Project: Scrap Happy Celebration Hat by Cosymakes
Yarn: Knit Picks Swish Superwash in red, not even half a skein, grey Rowan All Seasons Cotton, Cream and Burgundy super soft scrap yarn, maybe Cashmerino Chunky, and black Jaeger Matchmaker Aran. I realize that other than the Swish, the other yarn were all inherited from Madgik. Thanks, Madge, for the contributions!
Needles: Needles: Addi Turbos 16″ US 10.5 circular
Start: October 19
Finish: October 20

Thoughts: Fun, quick pattern with great results. And it’s always fun to dig through the scraps and come up with something visually interesting and functional. The pattern is written for kids or adults, and since this is for a baby, I decreased the number of stitches to 72. I think it still came out a bit too big, but I’m sure the baby will grow into it. I really like the knot at the top too.

After four hats, it was time to work on something else, so I finally cast on Juliet! Here she is so far. I’m a bit farther along now, having already switched to the second ball of Debbie Bliss Merino Chunky.

Here’s hoping none of you are in danger from the Southern California fires.

3 responses to “Hats! Hats! and More Hats!

  1. Hats off to you! *giggle snort*

    And finally Juliet. Yay!

  2. Nicely done on the hats! I love hat projects – instant gratification, you know?!

  3. Love the hats!! You have been a busy little knitter. I think I have that very malabrigo in my stash, what a great idea!!

    yippie!! Juliet is on the needles, can’t wait to see her progress.

Leave a Reply

