Halloween Wednesday WIP Report

Alas, I’m sorry to report that I should be so much farther along on Juliet than I am. I hit a snafu this weekend when I was doing the set up rows before the lace portion. My stitch count got off, and I didn’t realize it until after finishing row one of the lace repeat. That meant ripping back a few rows and having to count and recount. I’m sure you know the drill. I didn’t feel like doing all that and I didn’t feel like casting on anything new. All this was evidenced by the fact that whenever I would pick up the project, I would doze off. I’m happy to report that I finally got past that part and have finished the first lace repeat. I’m using Debbie Bliss Merino Chunky, and I have to say, man oh man, is this yarn heavy! It’s getting a bit… well, you know… bulky, and ungainly on the needles. I want to hurry up and finish this one, but the awkwardness is slowing me down. I think I just suck it up and gotta power through this one.

The Mia Shrug saw a bit of action last week on Sweetie Boy’s field trip. Three hours round trip on a charter bus with a seat row all to myself, and the kids quietly watching a DVD. Not too shabby. I made enough progress to the point where I bound off the neck stitches. It stills looks the same, except the there’s more knitted fabric curled around the needles. And there she sits until… who knows when.

In honor of Halloween, I’m casting on a new project. Heh, good one, huh? Feel free to borrow that line whenever you want. I’m casting on the long awaited Scribble Lace scarf from Mason-Dixon Knitting. I’m using Scout’s sock yarn in the Bonne Marie colorway (black, white and grey) from her 2006 Scout Swag Club and Valley Yarns Shelburne (I think) in black. Hopefully, a mindless knitting project to keep me company for today.

ETA: I cast on and did a few repeats of the Scribble Lace scarf today and frogged it. The size 15 needles weren’t big enough with the fingering weight yarn, and the Shelburne wasn’t bulky enough, and all the colors just ran together. Oh Boo, I say! I can easily repurpose the bulky yarn into a hat but will have to let the sock yarn stew a bit longer in the stash until some fabulous ideas strikes me.

Here’s a little peek at the spookiness at our house this morning before school.


Still Life


Action shot. Walk like an Egyptian.


Close up of the make up effects. She was so uncomfortable with the feel of the make up. I’m hoping this turns her off of make up until she’s 21.

Madgik’s having a contest, so be sure to enter your comment before midnight. Have an extra spooky Halloween!

5 responses to “Halloween Wednesday WIP Report

  1. The Sweeties look great in their costumes.

    Happy Halloween!

  2. The kids look great in their costumes! Happy Halloween! 🙂

  3. awww, love the action shot!!

  4. More sweet than spooky! Happy Halloween!

  5. The kids look great! I would have loved the Cleo costume as a kid.

Leave a Reply

