Baby Sweater FO

I’m seeing lots of baby sweaters throughout blogland, and thought it was time to show mine. This is the baby sweater I finished in October. Even though I finished the sweater a couple of weeks ago, I didn’t really have a model and the intended recipient hadn’t arrived yet. Ann-Marie finally entered the world, so that spurred me into snapping a couple of quick ones. She wasn’t available for a photo shoot, and nearby teddy was a stand-in.
Project: Easy Baby Cardigan by Diane Soucy, Knitting Pure and Simple
Yarn: Valeri di Roma Topacio, salmon orange (four balls), periwinkle (less than one ball for edging), cotton acrylic blend.
Needles: Knit Pick Options US size 7, 24” circular
Start: October 2007
Finish: October 2007
Thoughts: I initially learned about this free pattern from Patty, and knew I had to file it away for that inevitable wave of when-friends-have-babies. The pattern is straightforward, quick and easy, and I will make this again, especially since I know two more couples who are having babies next year.

The one change I’d recommend is doing a provisional cast on at the top of the hood, so you can seamlessly graft it together at the end. I whipstitched the top, and it looks fine. However, I was really wishing I had had the foresight to figure that out at the beginning. Next time you’re thinking about baby gift, seriously consider this pattern. It’s a great staple.
I threw in these last couple of pictures for a couple of reasons. The periwinkle trim cuts down on the very orange-ness of the sweater and makes a bit more pleasing to the eye. I always love how the shoulder raglan seam lines up so nicely. If you see any errors, please don’t tell me!
11 responses to “Baby Sweater FO

  1. very cute! this sweater tempted me to get pregnant just so i can get my hands on one of these.

    you know, this sweater just may look cuter on the teddy bear than a baby. have you considered knitting a line of teddy bear clothes?

  2. Cute l’il sweater!

  3. Very cute baby sweater!

  4. Yummmmm….orange….delicious.

  5. That is the most adorable thing I’ve seen all day!

  6. That cute sweater is the perfect color for an October baby!

  7. CUTE, CUTE!! Love that orange!

  8. That turned out really cute! I like the idea of using a teddy bear to model it!

  9. So cute! I agree with you on the periwinkle trim myself- an excellent colour combo.

    Thanks again for remembering my birthday! It really made my day.

  10. The sweater is so cute! I agree, definitely a good staple 🙂 And I like the periwinkle trim too.

  11. love the orange. I seriously hoard orange yarn (it’s a phase) so I’ll file away this color combo (great!) for a little girl.

Leave a Reply

