Wednesday WIP Report

Even though it’s Wednesday, the day before Thanksgiving, and I’m not meeting with my knitting group, it’s still WIP Report day. Here’s the knitting action going on right now at Chez Dim Sum.

I finally finished knitting the stockinette body section of the Mia Shrug for Sweetie Girl. Before seaming it together, I gave it a soak and a blocking. The ends curl so much, that I’m hoping I can relax those a little bit before sewing it up. Once the underarms and sides are sewn up, then I’ll pick up stitches for the ribbing that runs along the fronts and around the back of the neck. I’m frankly a little bit surprised that I finally finished the stockinette portion. It felt like it took forever, and at the widest point, I was knitting from one end of the sleeve across the back and to the end of the other sleeve. I had to buy the Knit Picks 40″ cable to accommodate all those stitches. Once I reached the point to decrease by binding off stitches on the sleeve, things flew along rather quickly.
BTW, ignore the big lump under the covers in the background. Sweetie Hubby is on vacation today and this is what he has chosen to do: nap, sleep, and nap. Can’t say I blame him.
I’ve cast on number three of the Swirl Pool Cap, this time with some Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Super Chunky in olive green. This yarn is so amazing; it’s so soft that it feels like you’re knitting with something as soft as your old flannel jammies. Incredible.
Here’s a close up of the swirling decreases. The yarn looks grey in this picture, but the color is actually much closer to the picture above.

I’m about to cast on for Sweetie Boy’s Woody Sweater by Debbie Bliss using some Rio de la Plata that I got at the notorious Black Sheep Knittery sale. It’s basically four rectangles with a little bit of shaping, so I’m hoping to get this one done for a holiday gift for him.

Have a safe and wonderful Thanksgiving, if you celebrate it. I’m thankful for many things, and hope you take the time today, tomorrow and the next to appreciate the things for which you’re thankful.
4 responses to “Wednesday WIP Report

  1. Happy Thanksgiving to you and the sweeties! Hope y’all have a great holiday weekend.

  2. Happy Turkey day to everyone at the sweetie household!

    Love the olive green…..my favorite color. It’s gonna look awesome in a hat.

    Can’t wait to see Mia all finished up.

  3. Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving! I love the Debbie Bliss cashmerino line of yarns – haven’t tried out the Super Chunky yet, but I have a bag I just bought at Stitches East that I’d love to tear into. Soon!

  4. Hope you had a great holiday!

Leave a Reply

