Wednesday WIP Report

So it’s December 5th, and last night as I was replying to Michelle’s comment, I realized that I have a ton of stuff I want to make as holiday gifts but am strangely unmoved to light the fire under me. Here’s what the list looks like:

2 more felted slippers
2 scarves
3 hats
2 wristwarmers

So, I’m plugging away on one of the three hats, and not really thinking ahead of which scarf, hat or wristwarmer to start. They’re all simple projects; I just gotta dig down deep and find some excitement. So, without further ado, here are the latest goings on at Chez Dim Sum.

Project: Single Cable Ribbed Wristwarmers (munchkin-sized) by Love is All You Need
Yarn: Noro Kureyon color #157, less than 1 skein, leftovers from my pair
Needles: Addi Turbos, US size 6 for the body, Knit Picks Options size 4 for the ribbing
Start: end of November
Finish: beginning of December


(This picture doesn’t show the wristwarmers entirely, but it was a less Stepford Child looking, so I wanted to post it.)

Thoughts: I used leftovers from the Single Cable Ribbed Wristwarmers for me. To make it smaller, I cast on 32 stitches and omitted the first and last 4 stitches of each row (k3s and one purl at the beginning and end of the first row). I finished the first but the ribbing was too stretched out, so I ripped it. I reknit the ribbing on size 4s, and it came out nice and tight. Did the same on the second and love how the colors are slightly different. They’re done just in time for Sweetie Girl to wear in the Holiday Parade she’s marching in tomorrow evening with her Brownie Troop.

Sweetie Boy’s Woody Sweater has a back now, and this weekend, I did a three needle bind off at the shoulders. I also picked up the stitches for the neck, but did twice as many rows, so the neck would curl more and hide the holes where I picked up stitches. Isn’t it interesting how the colors are so different, even from the same dye lot? I alternated between two different skeins for the back, and got such a consistent stripey effect all over. Even with the alternating yarn, that light patch of pooling emerged at the bottom of the back. So interesting on how this happens so randomly. Just gotta make the sleeves, but that’ll probably happen after holiday knitting. I’m not sure how I want to handle the variation in color, since I only have one skein of the darker colors, and lots of lighter. We’ll have to see how it knits up before I make a decision.


front and back

Speaking of holiday knitting, here’s one almost FO. It’s the Very Warm Hat from Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Knitting Around. Instructions can also be found on Knitting Without Tears. I’m using Patons Classic Wool Merino and it’s surprisingly soft. I haven’t decided if this hat is going to the Connecticut Clan or Sweetie Boy’s teacher who is a snowboarder. I’ll finish this tonight and then have to decide whether to start a Fake Isle Hat or a 1×1 rib Noro Stripey Scarf.


First side done before adding the second color

What else have I been working on? Check out this new addition to my kitchen. There was an office armoire here previously, and my desk, computer and work area have been relocated to make room for this beauty. I haven’t broken it out and done a full meal, but have already used it and it cooks beautifully!

That’s all for now. Have a great week!

8 responses to “Wednesday WIP Report

  1. Aww she’s so cute! Even in the Stepford pic. I love the lined hat too.

    Enjoy your new stove! It looks very glam!

  2. Everything is very cute, but I’m loving the oven- does that give you two, plus a warming drawer? Can I have Christmas dinner at your house?
    Your to-knit list looks long! I’m hoping I can finish mine in time to mail things. Yikes.

  3. Sorry for being the worst blogger ever and not reading your post until today. I missed the good news: you have a stove! And cupboards! Looks like the home repair is being successful – yay!

    I heart the lime lining on the staid grey hat. Kinda like a mullet – business up front, party inside!

  4. She sure loved showing those off last night. she is so cute. Did you get rained on?

  5. Cute mitts on a cute kid–a little sunshine for a rainy day! And the new oven looks wonderful–how nice to have it ready just in time for the holiday baking! (I won’t let Meg see, or you might find yourself with a Bakerina in your kitchen…)

  6. Aiyahh! Love the hat! To think I paid $12.95 at the Adidas outlet store for a similar hat recently. I could’ve knit one myself?! Well, maybe in my dreams.

    I’m experiencing oven-envy over here…

  7. I love the lime and gray hate. Very cool. And I bet it is so so warm!

  8. An excellent collection of WIPs! I really like the Zimmerman hat- very clever.

Leave a Reply

