WIP Report

It must be Thursday because I’m a day late with my WIP Report. Thanks for hanging around to read this. I’m still in the midst of my holiday gift knitting but I have been making progress. I finished two You Don’t Know Our Women Hats, the first complete with pom-pom, my very first one, and the Noro Striped Scarf. I’ll include links to the pictures on my Ravelry page, so it doesn’t spoil the surprise for some who might be reading. The first Women hat and the scarf have been mailed off and are now winging their way across the continental US to the East Coast for that branch of the Sweetie Family.

I also finished another Swirl Pool cap as a teacher gift, and while putting some yarn back into the overflowing basket, found the pair of blue koigu wristwarmers that I had finished over the summer and tucked away as a gift for a rainy day. w00t! w00t! (BTW, did you know this is the newest word to make it into Webster’s dictionary?) Well, it happens to be raining in these parts, and I really needed the extra bit of breathing room. So, the babysitter has received the blue koigu wristwarmers and both of us are happy.

Of course, since I was feeling so confident about my holiday knitting, I decided to add another teacher hat. This one will be for Sweetie Boy’s 4th grade teacher from last year who did such a tremendous job. Last year, I didn’t do any handknit gifts for teachers, so this year is making up for it. I decided on the Helping Hat by CanKnitian. Of course, I found it on Ravelry, the best thing since sliced bread. Um, did I mention that I’m planning to cast on for the hat right after I post this, and tomorrow is the last day of school before the holiday? Right. Call me Cleopatra, Queen of Denial. I just really want to make her a hat to express my gratitude, so if she gets it after Christmas, no big deal.

After that, the plan is to make the Swell hat for my brother using the wonderful Bruin colors of blue and gold. I’m thinking of making it an EZ Very Warm Hat and putting the design on the blue side. That’ll mark the official end of the holiday knitting… to be gifted at Christmastime. I gave my sister and BIL “I owe you’s” for their gifts. Can’t say what they’re going to be of course because it’ll ruin the surprise. Once I have the projects cast on, I’ll link to Ravelry. I love this sneaky sh*t, posting so people can see on Ravelry but they can’t. Just call me Grinch.

So, once I’m done, done, and done with the holiday knitting, what am I going to cast on? Why, a hat of course! I’ve been jonesing for a hat for myself, so I’m thinking of making a Le Slouch out of Patons SWS in a great cranberry red color. I just have to decide on whether to make it seed stitch or stockinette. Does anybody who has made one have any thoughts to share?

If I don’t talk to you before Christmas, have a wonderful holiday season and may it be filled with warmth, laughter and love!

7 responses to “WIP Report

  1. Wishing you and the Sweeties a sparkly, joyous Yule!

    P.S. Your hat knitting has totally inspired me, too.
    P.P.S. Shedir or bust.
    P.P.P.S. My measly holiday knitting is now complete, too. Break out the egg nog!

  2. If it weren’t for my resolution to stop starting new projects, this post would have totally convinced me to knit some more hats (love the pom pom!) Happy holidays!

  3. Hope you and the whole Sweetie Family have a wonderful holiday! Hats ahoy! And, as Madgik says, Shedir or bust. (Gee, I might actually be able to do a full KAL this time, assuming I can find a suitable yarn…there’s a first time for everything!)

  4. Great projects! I’m amazed with your progress and finished items.

    Hope you have a wonderful Christmas.

  5. Good Job!! I have finished all the stuff that needs to be done now. The rest is while the boys are here so they have input and I can do fitting.

    Merry Merry!

  6. Merry Christmas!

    I got confused reading your post—Bruin colors–blue and yellow? I was thinking, wait, she made a mistake, they’re black and yellow.

    Then it dawned on me that somewhere, there are other Bruins, not just the ones in Boston. The evil, evil Bruins that used to count Tyus Edney as one of their players. As a Missouri fan, I can’t get too excited about those Bruins, but I do hope that your knits turned out to your satisfaction and that you managed to get everything finished in time!

  7. I know it’s late, but I made le slouch with the seed stitch, and the only issue I had was that I couldn’t figure out the decreases! (Plus, it was way too big.) I made a pair of mitts out of the SWS in cranberry- so pretty. Have a great New year!

Leave a Reply

