More Hats

I’m playing catch up and showing you a few more hats that I finished and either have gifted already or will gift to someone who doesn’t read this blog.


Here’s the other You Don’t Know Our Women Hat, made for my sister-in-law. She wore it this evening, so that’s how I was able to finally get a picture of it. I’m glad she’s getting some wear out of it in Southern California. It’s been about 37 degrees here at night, and with our big rainstorm, we’re actually getting some use out of our handknit hats. Hurray!

Project: You Don’t Know Our Women Hat #2 by Bobbi of The Amazing Adventures of the Kelly Green Rogue.
Yarn: Malabrigo Chunky in Continental Blue, 1 skein
Needles: Knit Picks 16″ circulars US size 10
Start: December 18, 2007
Finish:December 20, 2007
Thoughts: I love this pattern, want one for myself and will definitely knit this again as a gift. The yarn is so wonderfully scrumptious, and the color was just perfect for our Bruin-loving family. What else can I say besides, “Make this Hat! You won’t be sorry!”


Project: Helping Hat by CanKnitian
Yarn: Knit Picks Cadena in Peat
Needles: Knit Picks 16″ circulars in US size 9
Start: December 20, 2007
Finish: January 1, 2008
Thoughts: This was the first official FO of 2008, I think. Or was it the Harlot’s Unoriginal Hat? Well, I finished both on New Year’s Day, but this one may have squeezed by in the morning. There are three versions of this hat in the pattern, and I made the cranberry one… ribbing, then cables, then 1×2 rib going up the top of the hat. I think this yarn is a bit thicker than the yarn called for, because I made fewer rows before binding off. I really like how the hat ended up. It’s for Sweetie Boy’s teacher last year. Not only is she a great teacher, but I didn’t do handknitted gifts for teachers last year and feel like I left them out. I’m afraid the brown might make it a bit too masculine for her, but she travels quite a bit, and when you’re cold, who cares how feminine your hat is? I enjoyed the pattern and hope to knit up the other two versions some day. I definitely recommend this one for a quick chunky yarn hat pattern with a bit more than just stockinette or ribbing to keep you interested.

I know this may get a bit tedious, seeing all these hats, but making them just hasn’t gotten tedious for me. In fact, I finished BIL’s gift this morning and cast on another Le Slouch for myself this afternoon. I ran out of yarn, so I gotta pick up the ball tomorrow, hopefully, and finish it off. Keep your fingers crossed that it fits my domus largus, aka big noggin.

9 responses to “More Hats

  1. Keep the hats coming, I love it!

  2. As another knitter with a hat addiction, I will never tire of seeing your hats!

  3. Going to have to start calling you Hattie, I can see it now…Great productivity on the hats! So useful, especially in our so-called “winter” here! After all, they say you lose a lot of your body heat from your head, so it makes sense to keep the head warm. Good going!

  4. Cute hats! 🙂

  5. I know, you are going for a higher number of FO’s in 2008!! I think you have found the right strategy!!
    Love the hats, I have two going right now too. Just following the master.

  6. Love the brown! And your model’s smile is TERRIFIC! 🙂

  7. Brown is “in” you know. She’ll look fabulous. Great job on the hats. If you keep up this pace, you’ll have a zillion FOs at the end of the year!

  8. the hats look great! Of course I think that the You Don’t Know Our Women is awesome! 😉

  9. Cute hats, but the model steals the show. 🙂

Leave a Reply

