Kilroy Was Here

Yes, this is the Thursday WIP Report but that title seemed so much more appropriate. It’s the finished Shedir and the only way I could get a decent picture was by using the new webcam my sister and brother-in-law gave me for Christmas.

Project: Shedir by Jenna Wilson (on ravelry)
Yarn: Rowan Calmer, one ball and a squoosh of yarn from a second
Needles: Knit Picks Classic 16″ Circulars US size 3
Start: January 14
Finish: January 22
Thoughts: Loved it. The yarn was really nice, although a little bit splitty if you’re trying to undo some stitches (of which I had lots of practice). Calmer is so incredibly stretchy, and I’m really glad Madgik told me to just shut up and get it already. It’s a wonderful plummy color which I can see myself wearing a lot. It’s a cotton blend, and I like having a cotton hat, in addition to my other favorite wool hat. This was a mini kal with my knitting group, and it was a lot of fun. I think there are five done so far with about 4 more WIPs. Fun fun fun! If you haven’t made it yet, I really recommend adding it to your queue. The chart looks intimidating at first, but like any chart, take it line by line and it’s manageable. Just interesting enough to keep you challenged but a short enough project not to drive you bonkers.

I’m almost done with my sister’s holiday gift. I got the last skein of yarn and I just have a little bit to go. Go to Ravelry and you’ll see what’s left. That’s all I can say because my sister is a lurker! D’ye hear me, Sister? L-U-R-K-E-R ! Can’t spoil her giftee, now; can I?

Thanks to all of you for the wonderful birthday wishes for Sweetie Boy. The suggestions for his new name in a couple of years are Sweetie Guy, Sweetie Tween and most disturbingly Sweetie Hottie. Yikes!

11 responses to “Kilroy Was Here

  1. Nicely done!

  2. OMG, your post cracked me up. Esp. the photo and…Sweetie Hottie?!

    Congrats on finishing Shedir! (but you knew that aready, right?)

  3. Love the hat! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Belated Happy Birthday wishes to your Sweetie (still a ) Boy!!

    Your Shedir is wonderful. I love that color, and it is very flattering on you!

  5. I love your Shedir! Oooh I may have to try it… do I dare?! I’m warming up to the idea…it’s so darn pretty!

  6. Great picture, great hat. I may have to make one now.

  7. Your hat turned out fab. Love the color. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m still working on mine. I think I’m on row 60, so almost done.

    Happy belated birthday to Sweetie Boy! You could call him sweetie dude when he gets older.

  8. Hey, I like Sweetie Dude almost as much as Sweetie Hottie! Your Shedir looks great! I got into the 3rd pattern repeat, finally.

  9. Congrats on finishing Shedir – you’re on a hat roll aren’t you?

  10. Yeah the Sweetie Hottie will come way to fast so put your seatbelt on!

  11. I came looking for a picture of your Booga Bag and of course could not resist reading your latest post. Cute hat! I really like it.

    I found out my neighbor is a knitter so I feel a lot better knowing she can save me from myself, when the need arises.

    Happy Bday to Sweetie Boy! Personally, I don’t see why you have to change his name. He’ll always be your boy…

Leave a Reply

