Catching Up

First off, fun pictures to show of my handknits being worn and modeled by the intelligent and beautiful Sweetie Nieces. They live in Virginia, where it is actually cold enough to wear wool. (Okay, I have to admit it has been cold enough in So Cal for me to wear wool.)


Sweetie Niece, the Elder, modeling her Noro Striped Scarf. Please send her congrats for early acceptance to U of Illinois’ Engineering Program. That’s her first college acceptance and hopefully, not her last. She’s a smart one all right.


Sweetie Niece, the Younger, sporting her You Don’t Know Our Women hat a’ la pom-pom. Such vision she has! She’s a smarty too. Scary smart!


Here they are pretending to be sweet and loving sisters. Hmmmm, next year maybe I’ll make them the Devil Hats!

I’m still chugging along on the baby sweater, although I have to admit I’m a bit bored of it. Maybe because I’m dreading the inevitable… that I’ll run out of yarn for both sleeves. What to do? What to do? I think I’ll have to find some compatible yarn at my LYS in a cute contrasting color and finish the sleeves with it. I was planning to use some lavender or pink yarn to blanket stitch around the edges, but now it might be used for some color block sleeve design element. (Please say that with your best Thurston Howell voice.) Some members of my knitting group weren’t sure in the first picture I posted how the baby sweater came together, so here it is, showing how the hood looks. I just bound off the bottom. Just gotta do the sleeves now. Yes, there will be sleeves. This will not be a Wife Beater Baby Sweater.

I have something to tell you. I have to confess. I was tired of the baby sweater. I’ve been itching for weeks now to cast on a bulky sweater and crank that puppy out. I did an impulse cast on. Yep. Seeing Jillian in her Alexandra Ballerina sweater on Wednesday broke me. It reminded me that I had the yarn for the project sitting at home in a bag waiting for me. It called to me. It did the siren song. I gave in. I swatched yesterday, realized my gauge was too tight, figured some numbers, and cast on for the largest size of the Alexandra sweater from Fitted Knits. I’ll run out of yarn, Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Chunky, way early. I don’t care. I just had to do it. I know; call me out of control. Reckless.

BTW, if you happen to have any extra of balls of Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Chunky in coral, color 17003, dyelot 992, I’d like to buy it off you.

10 responses to “Catching Up

  1. Love the scarf and hat!

  2. Your nieces are adorable in their knits (and clearly way smart)!

    I wish I had some coral Cashmerino to give you! Since I was a bad influence and everything 😉

  3. WOW accepted into Engineering! Those sweetie nieces are both smart and super cute!! They also look adorable in their hand knits.

    Wife beater baby…..I love it!! I can picture a baby with a foul smirk, hair all spiked up into a mohawk, flexing his baby muscles…hehe

    Hmmmm I think the DB chunky in my stash is a bright pink….I’ll check

  4. Great pics of the neices- you clearly earn fave aunt status.
    I can understand your baby jacket issues- i have similar issues with my cabled jacket. I haven’t started the sleeves for fear of running out of yarn. So, instead I made a hat from the stash. Avoidance is good!

  5. Beautiful nieces. 🙂 They look great in their handknits. Congrats to the oldest for her early acceptance!

    Wife beater baby sweater – I love it! How about multi-colored striped sleeves? You’ll think of something great.

  6. It’s fun seeing photos of your handknits in use by your clever, pretty nieces. Great pics!

    Wife beater baby jacket = hilarious. Can you give a baby a mullet? If you could, that would be perfect.

    I like Annette’s idea of striped sleeves…and yay for impetuous cast ons you wild thing. (Sorry, I have no DB Chunky.)

  7. Great modeling! With a snowy background too, perfect!

    I like the idea of striped sleeves for the baby sweater too, very cute!

  8. Maybe the Cashmerino sweater could have stripes?? Colorblocking is “in” (at least if we say so!). For Madge: babies can, and do, have mullets: our little Audrey has one!
    Congrats to your Sweetie Niece on her early acceptance–way to go!!

  9. Sweeties nieces are so cute. Their knits are gorgeous!
    I don’t have the correct colour DB Cashmerino Chunky. I have 4 skeins in blue, which is of no help to you at all. Sorry!

  10. Great pics of your nieces! Go you for casting on the Alexandra top – it’s like candy to knit. Please tell me you’ve checked the errata for it, though – as there is a different cable chart for one of them!

Leave a Reply

